PDA

View Full Version : Facing lot of problems in UBUNTU JAUNTY :(

srk2890
February 8th, 2010, 01:18 AM
Ppl .. i'm new to ubuntu .. i've been facing a lot of problems lately. I'd be very glad if someone comes forward to help this "poor thing" out. Well my problems are

->I encounter an error "781 Header missing " at times when the system boots. The welcome screeen doesnt appear . stops with a blank screen and the keyboard is not functional.

->I was very comfortable using Photoshop for image editing , GIMP is killing me.. Similarly .. Though i have UBUNTU STUDIO , i find it hard to edit audio clips. Can someone please guide me to sites which educate me with how to use these softwares.

->My system is slow , a relative of mine told me that UBUNTU JAUNTY works with only 16 bit n i have 32 bit processor .. Heard that ubuntu 9.10 is 32 bit but is an unstable version . so what do i do ??

Also i am very interested in operating the system through the terminal , rather than using the GUI .. do u have good suggestions ??

hanzomon4
February 8th, 2010, 01:25 AM
16bit?! your relative doesn't know what he/she is talking about.... Linux has been 32bit and 64bit for a while. What kind of system do yoou have... i.e what kind of cpu, ram, video card? What app are you using for audio? Ardour, jokosher, audacity?

Ozor Mox
February 8th, 2010, 01:26 AM
->My system is slow , a relative of mine told me that UBUNTU JAUNTY works with only 16 bit n i have 32 bit processor .. Heard that ubuntu 9.10 is 32 bit but is an unstable version . so what do i do ??

Ubuntu does not have a 16-bit version, it has 32-bit and 64-bit. Both are stable.

Also i am very interested in operating the system through the terminal , rather than using the GUI .. do u have good suggestions ??

You can get the terminal through Applications > Accessories > Terminal, or you can press Ctrl+Alt+F1 to drop out of X to a terminal. Press Ctrl+Alt+F7 to return to the desktop.

cguy
February 8th, 2010, 01:33 AM