PDA

View Full Version : Really Good WYSISWG HTML Editor for Ubuntu

tomreid
February 7th, 2010, 11:51 AM
Hi

Does anyone know of a really good HTML Editor for Ubuntu.

I started off my website (www.kirkcaldybands.com) on Dreamweaver on a mac, which I regret spending money on as it was expensive and too full featured for what I wanted.

I tried Kompozer for a bit, but it was not stable on 9.04 (I know there is a known issue).

I just downloaded Bluefish today, it looks very full featured, but is it WYSIWYG?

I've just defaulted back to Seamonkey. Id does the job but is really old.

I learned some HTML scripting once, but decided life was too short, so really need WYSWYG.

I'm not good at compiling, etc, so would prefer something that's in the repositories or at least has a .deb installer.

Anyone have any ideas?

Seems there is a bit of a gap in the available software.

cheers

ikt
February 7th, 2010, 11:55 AM
There was a thread about this not to long ago, it was suggested the best editor was Dreamweaver 8 running in wine.

Thread here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1376031

hessiess
February 7th, 2010, 12:56 PM
There is no such thing as a good WYSIWYG HTML editor for ANY platform, they all produce horrible HTML/CSS. Just learn HTML, it is NOT difficult, you can easily learn the basics of HTML and CSS in just a day or two.

Sand & Mercury
February 7th, 2010, 12:58 PM
There is no such thing as a good WYSIWYG HTML editor for ANY platform, they all produce horrible HTML/CSS. Just learn HTML, it is NOT difficult.
I'm really inclined to go with this and then suggest Aptana Studio as your development suite. If you're serious about making web pages/sites you WILL eventually have to learn HTML anyway, so you might as well get it over with sooner rather than later.