PDA

View Full Version : Just curious; for Linux users who bought Apple computers why not just use BSD?

HappinessNow
February 6th, 2010, 09:52 AM
Just curious; for Linux users who bought Apple computers why not just use BSD?...just wondering. :p

handy
February 6th, 2010, 10:22 AM
I do use BSD, but not on the Apple.

I use Arch on the 24" iMac, & OS X, as seldom as I can get away with, as I don't like OS X, that much...

saif_held
February 6th, 2010, 10:54 AM
I'm no expert not even mediocre when it comes to BSD, can you please tell me what do you mean?

Because I was thinking/debating whether I should buy a Mac or not..Of course to install Ubuntu on it.

Nevon
February 6th, 2010, 11:09 AM
Because the BSD kernel and the Darwin kernel are not the same? Or perhaps because no one buys a mac for the underlying kernel, but because of the proprietary user-interface?

earthpigg
February 6th, 2010, 11:14 AM
i am not a mac user.

however, the answer is obvious:

they very likely want to use mac-only software.

you know, like the user interface and iTunes. heard of that? :P

saif_held
February 6th, 2010, 11:15 AM
@Nevon
Is that an answer? Or?

Nevon
February 6th, 2010, 11:50 AM
@Nevon
Is that an answer? Or?

Those are rhetorical questions meant to illustrate the fact that the thread starter is comparing apples to oranges.

saif_held
February 6th, 2010, 12:02 PM
Those are rhetorical questions meant to illustrate the fact that the thread starter is comparing apples to oranges.

Glad you made that clear, thanks mate.

Tibuda
February 6th, 2010, 12:09 PM
Because the BSD kernel and the Darwin kernel are not the same? Or perhaps because no one buys a mac for the underlying kernel, but because of the proprietary user-interface?
I think the OP question is for people using Linux on Macs.

Nevon
February 6th, 2010, 12:17 PM
I think the OP question is for people using Linux on Macs.