PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrading to New Versions of Ubuntu

FerretDefunct
February 6th, 2010, 12:51 AM
I'm an Ubuntu newbie and recently decided to install it as the OS for my netbook. I believe that new releases of Ubuntu come out every six months or so and I'm curious as to how easy it is to upgrade. As a long time Windows user I'm used to "Clean install = the way to go" when it comes to updated releases, I'd like to know if this philosophy holds true in Ubuntu.

Assuming it does, and clean installs are preferred I'd like to know how much of a headache installing a clean new release is, and how much data I'll lose. For instance will I need to reinstall all of my applications as I would with Windows? Will I need to completely re-customize the OS, starting from scratch? I installed Ubuntu keeping partition separate from the rest to store data (music, movies, etc.), I'm assuming that I can leave that untouched when reinstalling?

In short I'd just appreciate it if anybody could give me a brief idea of what to expect when moving to a new release of Ubuntu. Thanks for any help you all can throw my way.

llawwehttam
February 6th, 2010, 01:01 AM
If you have a separate partition for /home then you will be able to keep your personal settings but still do a clean install.

I always prefer to do it this way as you don't get so many problems.
But if your willing to do a few fixes but want to keep all your programs then you run

sudo apt-get update; sudo apt-get upgrade ; sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

in terminal and that will update you to the latest version.

cantormath
February 6th, 2010, 01:07 AM
You have two options for version upgrades.

1)
You can backup your system and do a clean install. (recommend).

2)
You can also do a version upgrade. If you are using a LTS verion, i.e., hardy, you will not be prompted by the update manager to upgrade to the next version of ubuntu, say ibex.

A Karmic upgrade howto
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/KarmicUpgrades