PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New update help!

Ttomato13
February 5th, 2010, 08:34 PM
Hi everybody, I am new to using Ubuntu and love it very much, but the automatic update happened this morning. I let it do its thing, and then it needed to restart. After the restart the computer did not load Ubuntu, but went to a command prompt. Nothing I could think of helped to get it going into the OS. Is there something wrong with this update, or something I need to manually type at the command prompt to get this update to complete. Thank god for my lap top, I hope I didn't brink my desktop! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Sef
February 5th, 2010, 08:50 PM
1) What version of Ubuntu are you using?

2) What are your system specs?

andrewdvalles3
February 5th, 2010, 08:52 PM
I have the same issue. I am using 9.10 (Karma Koala).

Cabs21
February 5th, 2010, 08:55 PM
try typing
startx into command prompt

if that does not work try typing
login then your username and password then try
startx

Last ditch effort idea I had is that you are in a CLI (Command Line Interface) not the GUI (Graphical User Interface) pres Ctrl+Alt+F7 or F8 or F9 to see if it brings you back to the GUI.

Ttomato13
February 5th, 2010, 08:55 PM
1) What version of Ubuntu are you using?

2) What are your system specs?

I'm using Ubuntu 9.10, have it burned to a cd, but installed it through windows xp, and have a dual boot.

My system specs are a amd athelon 2.33ghz i beleive, with 1.5 gigs of ram. Its an older computer, but still runs great. Nvidia graphics card, onboard sound system. Usual stuff.

Ttomato13
February 5th, 2010, 09:01 PM
Cabs21, thanks for that try, but no dice, didn't work. If I typed login or startx it said missing file.
command prompt reads sh:grub>

I guess I can just uninstall it through windows and reinstall, but then when updated, the same issue will occur I feel.

Cabs21
February 5th, 2010, 09:02 PM