PDA

View Full Version : Help a noob with video codecs

mairuzu
February 5th, 2010, 07:44 PM
Hi I'm a total Ubuntu noob.

I have Ubuntu9.10 and have installed MPlayer, VLC Player and Miro, but as soon as I open any AVI file they just close and disappear without a word!

I have had a look to see how to install codecs, but to no avail.

Please could someone give me a complete dummy's step by step guide to resolving this problem?

FYI - I'm using a laptop on which I had no problem playing everything through VLC on XP, but have ended up using exclusively Ubuntu after the first attempt at installing a dual boot completely fried my version of XP and now I can't go back! Which I'm kind of happy about if I can get things working in Ubuntu.

Glenn nl
February 5th, 2010, 07:46 PM
Did you try installing the ubuntu-restricted-extras package?

mairuzu
February 5th, 2010, 07:54 PM
I did - but to be honest, I don't really understand what it is or does...

mairuzu
February 5th, 2010, 07:56 PM
Just had a look and I'm assuming that it's something I wouldn't necessarily see or be aware of once it's installed? Am I right?

Cabs21
February 5th, 2010, 08:03 PM
did you install cairo dock? I have had an issue with VLC and cairo dock before. try opening VLC alone without a video, go to preferences in the options, tools, or edit tab. on the left in the preferences window there should be a video tab. Under that tab find the output bar and change it to GNOME or GLopen or something like that. Close VLC and try opening a video file again. If no luck try a different format. If still no luck then I cant help you. This issue happened to me while cairo dock was installed. When I reinstalled a fresh 9.10 and VLC the issue did not happen and has not happened yet. I have not installed cairo dock yet. Good luck. Let us know if it worked or not.

lisati
February 5th, 2010, 08:08 PM
Maybe FF&H isn't the best place for this discussion.....

Elfy
February 5th, 2010, 08:09 PM
moved to ABT

nhasian