PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Intel Video Driver Issue



Blayze187
February 5th, 2010, 08:27 AM
Hey ppl. so im brand new to linux, i had played around with PHLAK a few years ago, but lost the live cd and jsut never went back to it, so now im using Ubuntu 9.10, and im running it on a Dell Inspiron 6000, when i boot with the live cd all the fancy desktop enhancements work fine, but then i installed it on my hdd and got rid of windows, now i cant activate the desktop enhancements so im thinking its cuz the intel video drivers arent properly working? please correct me if i am wrong. i want to learn this stuff lol. i had already had problems from the get go with Ubuntu not recognizing my wireless card, and my wired card. but i have a live cd of knoppix that i use in my hhd-less gateway laptop so i read some of forums to get those working.

but id like to get this working now, someone help please?

Blayze187
February 5th, 2010, 08:45 AM
Hey ppl. so im brand new to linux, i had played around with PHLAK a few years ago, but lost the live cd and jsut never went back to it, so now im using Ubuntu 9.10, and im running it on a Dell Inspiron 6000, when i boot with the live cd all the fancy desktop enhancements work fine, but then i installed it on my hdd and got rid of windows, now i cant activate the desktop enhancements so im thinking its cuz the intel video drivers arent properly working? please correct me if i am wrong. i want to learn this stuff lol. i had already had problems from the get go with Ubuntu not recognizing my wireless card, and my wired card. but i have a live cd of knoppix that i use in my hhd-less gateway laptop so i read some of forums to get those working.

but id like to get this working now, someone help please?

Psumi
February 5th, 2010, 09:27 AM
Your Dell Inspirion 6000 has ATI Mobility Radeon X300 according to CNET and google.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1394136

The mobility radeon x300 had issues, and probably still has issues. The FPS may be very slow in newer versions of ubuntu (in 8.04 the FPS was clear up to 30, but in 9.04 or so, it shot down to 6 according to a Phoronix test.)

And it isn't Intel, as I said, it's ATI, and ATI is known to a.) stop support for older hardware, and B.) not work sometimes.

Blayze187
February 5th, 2010, 10:03 AM
Your Dell Inspirion 6000 has ATI Mobility Radeon X300 according to CNET and google.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1394136

The mobility radeon x300 had issues, and probably still has issues. The FPS may be very slow in newer versions of ubuntu (in 8.04 the FPS was clear up to 30, but in 9.04 or so, it shot down to 6 according to a Phoronix test.)

And it isn't Intel, as I said, it's ATI, and ATI is known to a.) stop support for older hardware, and B.) not work sometimes.

yea when i run the check in the terminal it says Intel, and when i was using windows i tried to install the ATI drivers, stup said i didnt have an ATI graphics card, so i went to dell support dl'd the drivers, and it installed as INTEL. oh and btw the laptop is like 4 or more years old. so it has the old chipsets in it, not any of the fancy new ones, so my question still applys, and now i updated the kernel through the update manager and now when i log in it doesnt diplay the desktop just the terminal appears. i really need some help here, these problems are making me just want to reinstall windows, but i dont want to give up on this yet.

Leppie
February 5th, 2010, 11:50 AM
intel video cards now only use kernel drivers.
what is the output of the following command:

lsmod

Grenage
February 5th, 2010, 11:55 AM
There's a chance that the install is using xorg.conf, and specifying the vesa driver.

Type this into a terminal:


gksu gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Look for:


Driver "vesa"

If it's there, change it to:


Driver "intel"

Leppie
February 5th, 2010, 12:04 PM
There's a chance that the install is using xorg.conf, and specifying the vesa driver.

Type this into a terminal:


gksu gedit /etc/X11/korg.conf
that should be:

gksu gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Grenage
February 5th, 2010, 12:07 PM
that should be:

gksu gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Thank you, damn typo; I have corrected it.

Leppie
February 5th, 2010, 12:13 PM
Thank you, damn typo; I have corrected it.
you're welcome.
btw, was xorg.conf there after you installed karmic? i'm running my system without any xorg.conf (karmic doesn't have one by default).

Grenage
February 5th, 2010, 12:24 PM
Mine only had one in Karmic after an upgrade from Jaunty, fresh installs didn't. nvidia-settings will create one if you use it to save settings.

Leppie
February 5th, 2010, 12:35 PM
i've got an intel card, but never have had the need for a xorg.conf

Grenage
February 5th, 2010, 12:38 PM
Neither have I on a fresh Karmic Intel install, not unless there were EDID problems. Some people do seem to have them, and occasionally they reference the vesa driver, God knows why - probably the result of some playing around.

Leppie
February 5th, 2010, 12:51 PM
well, it could also be a bug. like normally karmic should install grub2 and only use grub-legacy when a system upgrade is done. but i've seen several cases that a clean install results in a mixture of grub2 and grub legacy.

Leppie
February 5th, 2010, 12:56 PM
cross posting doesn't really help you... i replied in your other thread...

btw, dell always has had the habit of producing a whole range of different machines under the same model number. this is also why you will always find several different drivers for like graphics, sound and networking.

overdrank
February 5th, 2010, 01:30 PM
Threads merged. Please do not create multiple threads on the same issue.

Blayze187
February 5th, 2010, 04:10 PM
Threads merged. Please do not create multiple threads on the same issue.

yea sorry about that, im new to forums and linux. ive had my fill of windows tho. i can do alot on it, and i want something new. k so after the issue i had with it not booting after i updated the kernel. i just wiped it and installed windows again, split the hdd into two partitions, and dual boot installed ubuntu 9.04 again. now i still have the video issue, but a new problem has occured, after i got my wireless working again, its got a low transfer rate, like wayyy lower then when i had just ubuntu installed on the hdd, i was gettin at least 150 kbps but now im maxin at around 60 kbps, but hovering around 30-40 kbps
strange? i think so. anyway along those same lines, the update manager cant retrieve the index thing for the upgrade to 9.10 and says to check my internet connection, but since im posting on this forum im pretty sure my internet works ok. the other updates are downloading fine too, just not the Karmic update.

any insights? much appreciated, and ill post another reply with the results of the tweaking you guys said for me to do.

Blayze187
February 5th, 2010, 04:11 PM
intel video cards now only use kernel drivers.
what is the output of the following command:

lsmod

this is the result of that:

blayze@blayze-laptop:~$ lsmod
Module Size Used by
rfkill_input 12800 0
arc4 9856 2
ecb 10752 2
b43 131484 0
mac80211 217208 1 b43
cfg80211 38032 1 mac80211
led_class 12036 1 b43
binfmt_misc 16776 1
ppdev 15620 0
bridge 56340 0
stp 10500 1 bridge
bnep 20224 2
input_polldev 11912 1 b43
lp 17156 0
parport 42220 2 ppdev,lp
snd_intel8x0 37532 3
snd_ac97_codec 112292 1 snd_intel8x0
ac97_bus 9856 1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm_oss 46336 0
snd_mixer_oss 22656 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 82948 3 snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy 10756 0
snd_seq_oss 37760 0
pcmcia 44748 0
snd_seq_midi 14336 0
snd_rawmidi 29696 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 15104 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 56880 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event
snd_timer 29704 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 14988 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq
joydev 18368 0
snd 62628 16 snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_ oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_ti mer,snd_seq_device
yenta_socket 32396 1
rsrc_nonstatic 19328 1 yenta_socket
pcspkr 10496 0
dcdbas 15264 0
soundcore 15200 1 snd
sdhci_pci 15232 0
sdhci 23940 1 sdhci_pci
pcmcia_core 43540 3 pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
iTCO_wdt 19108 0
iTCO_vendor_support 11652 1 iTCO_wdt
snd_page_alloc 16904 2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
psmouse 61972 0
serio_raw 13316 0
video 25360 0
output 11008 1 video
intel_agp 34108 1
agpgart 42696 2 intel_agp
hid_bright 9984 0
usbhid 42336 1 hid_bright
b44 35984 0
ohci1394 38576 0
ieee1394 94660 1 ohci1394
ssb 41220 2 b43,b44
mii 13312 1 b44
fbcon 46112 0
tileblit 10752 1 fbcon
font 16384 1 fbcon
bitblit 13824 1 fbcon
softcursor 9984 1 bitblit

Blayze187
February 5th, 2010, 04:14 PM
There's a chance that the install is using xorg.conf, and specifying the vesa driver.

Type this into a terminal:


gksu gedit /etc/X11/xorg.confLook for:


Driver "vesa"If it's there, change it to:


Driver "intel"

and uh when i put that in this is what comes up in the editor:

# xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# Note that some configuration settings that could be done previously
# in this file, now are automatically configured by the server and settings
# here are ignored.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
# sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
SubSection "Display"
Virtual 2304 800
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Leppie
February 5th, 2010, 04:27 PM
did you set the virtual desktop to 2304x800?
if not, try renaming the file:

sudo mv /etcX11/xorg.conf /etcX11/xorg.conf.old
then reboot

Blayze187
February 5th, 2010, 04:38 PM
did you set the virtual desktop to 2304x800?
if not, try renaming the file:

sudo mv /etcX11/xorg.conf /etcX11/xorg.conf.oldthen reboot


lawl not that high, i set it to 1280x800 so it displayed in 16:9, other wise there are ugly black borders on the left and right side of my screen.

should i try reloading the old file anyway? at least then my desktop effects would work again lol

Leppie
February 5th, 2010, 04:40 PM
lawl not that high, i set it to 1280x800 so it displayed in 16:9, other wise there are ugly black borders on the left and right side of my screen.

should i try reloading the old file anyway? at least then my desktop effects would work again lol
as i said, i use my intel card without any issues running x without a xorg.conf present.
just rename the file and see the result, if it's worse you can always put it back.

Blayze187
February 5th, 2010, 04:41 PM
as i said, i use my intel card without any issues running x without a xorg.conf present.
just rename the file and see the result, if it's worse you can always put it back.

k i will once my slow updater finishes. then ill reply to this. thanks for the help so far.

Blayze187
February 5th, 2010, 05:50 PM
k so after security updates i tryed that command code, and this is what shows up:
blayze@blayze-laptop:~$ sudo mv /etcX11/xorg.conf /etcX11/xorg.conf.old
mv: cannot stat `/etcX11/xorg.conf': No such file or directory

so what now...?

Leppie
February 5th, 2010, 05:54 PM
k so after security updates i tryed that command code, and this is what shows up:
blayze@blayze-laptop:~$ sudo mv /etcX11/xorg.conf /etcX11/xorg.conf.old
mv: cannot stat `/etcX11/xorg.conf': No such file or directory

so what now...?
sorry about that...
forgot a slash...
here's the command again, but the correct version:

sudo mv /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.old

Blayze187
February 6th, 2010, 03:32 AM
sorry about that...
forgot a slash...
here's the command again, but the correct version:

sudo mv /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.old

ahh ok that makes sense, wow i shoulda caught that it was missing.
anyway so i got the updates installed, and then got the update mnanager to retrieve the release notes, and got Karmic installed(thank fully), and now mny resolution says taht its in 4:3 but there are no borders, so its displaying in 16:10. i guess the system is confused.
and now my desktop effects can be activated. so the update, and upgrade did something good. but im still kinda wary, cuz id like to play games and whatnot, but i dont want to launch one with out the proper driver support, last time i did when i installed ubuntu the first time the screen tried to resize when the game launched but then got stuck between resolutions but the sound still played.

so yeaaa, sorry about all my long winded responses.

Leppie
February 6th, 2010, 03:35 AM
i have an intel i915 card and am using the kernel modules without any problems. also, as stated before my system doesn't have a xorg.conf

Blayze187
February 6th, 2010, 03:57 AM
i have an intel i915 card and am using the kernel modules without any problems. also, as stated before my system doesn't have a xorg.conf

yea i guess with 9.10 its fixed. thanks for the help man.

Leppie
February 6th, 2010, 12:25 PM
you're welcome.

if you consider this issue to be solved, use the thread tools to set it to solved.