PDA

View Full Version : Beginner at C++, looking for information (Exercises)

Ravenshade
February 4th, 2010, 08:31 PM
Hello World;

The times I have entered Hello World into C++ must be countless, but that doesn't mean I haven't been playing around. I am a university student in the UK and I am doing a Bachelor of Science in Information Communication Technology. Unfortunately, this hasn't helped in my desire to become a programmer as much as I thought it would. In fact I was incredibly naive.

One major disadvantage was the fact that on one particular module, my primary language was Java. Unfortunately I found Java to be a clunky unyielding programming language which left much to be desired, perhaps a major factor in my disapproval for this language lay in how the module was taught and by whom. Later I rediscovered my desire to learn a language and off I went, only later finding that C++ would be a better programming language to learn.

It was around this time that I felt that learning C++ isn't something done in a lecture but something someone should do in their own free time and not because they need to learn a language but because they feel the desire to learn it. This is where my query comes in.

After running through numerous tutorials I have found them to slowly become tedious, now that's not because they're not useful, it's because I'm not doing anything with the knowledge and in order to learn a language being productive with that language is key. (Perhaps why I'm still familiar with the basics of Japanese).

What I'd like to know is, are there any exercises out there that I could use to help improve my knowledge of C++, programs that are functional and do things perhaps? But something on the level of a beginner -> medium. I don't mean tutorials, because I have found numerous adequate supplies of tutorials on the net.