PDA

View Full Version : Instant Messaging Program in Python

punkrockguy318
March 5th, 2006, 04:43 AM
Hey all you fellow Ubuntu users :) This week I decided to program something sweet, that would make me cool. Just kidding :p
I put three nights or so into this program. This is my first attempt at a real python program, a gtk2 program, an object oriented program, and my first network program, ever. So cut me a little slack :-P Would some of you python guys take a look at it and see what is cool and what sucks? I'm not really planning to make a real IM replacement, as AIM is all anyone around here uses, and Jabber is the Linux of IM... I just did this project as a learning experience.

Here's the source: http://punkrockguy318.no-ip.org/nimc-0.0.1.tar.gz

There are a couple known problems. I'll just get them out of the way right here:
* Logout. If you don't logout, you will be forever online.
* No status messages. You won't really be notified if your receipient isn't online or whatever
* Not beautiful. Remember, I did this in three nights so the interface doesn't have much love, and there aren't enough comments.
* I found out that the open/close every request thing wasn't the greatest. A telnet like solution would be better (keep all connections open)

Could you guys give me your opinions? Thank you!

majikstreet
March 5th, 2006, 06:57 PM
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "interface.py", line 201, in send
response = client.Msg(nick, text)
File "/home/majikstreet/nimc/client.py", line 62, in Msg
msg = '%msg%'+self.cert+'%'+self.nick+'%'+to+'%'+text
TypeError: cannot concatenate 'str' and 'NoneType' objects

btw, if you want to look at an existing program, there's a python jabber client called gajim... anyway, this is a jabber program, right? you weren't too clear..

punkrockguy318
March 6th, 2006, 12:48 AM
No, this isn't a jabber program. This is a new instant mesasging protocol.

punkrockguy318
March 6th, 2006, 12:50 AM