PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can someone please help me, Graphics Problem

verachion
February 4th, 2010, 02:53 PM
First off I am a complete beginner, I apologise

I have just installed Ubuntu and have downloaded all updates, I have tried to enable visual effects but it says its not possible? which is a bit strange because I am on a brand new laptop. If I go in to Hardware drivers there is nothing there. Please can you help me

s.fox
February 4th, 2010, 02:57 PM
Hello and welcome to the forum :D

Can you please open up a terminal

Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal

And then run the following command:

lspci | grep VGA

Please post the output back

-Silver Fox

audiomick
February 4th, 2010, 02:58 PM
Open a terminal
applications> accessories> terminal
and type

lspci
there and enter.
If you can't make out your video card in there, copy (select the text, shift+ctrl+c) and paste it here (use the # button at the top of the post window to put code tags around it)
so we can see what video card you are using.

inobe
February 4th, 2010, 02:58 PM
hi open terminal and run a few commands that you can copy and paste on your next post.

glxinfo

lspci

ibuclaw
February 4th, 2010, 03:00 PM
There is a nice script call "compiz-check", which tests whether or not your system is compiz-ready, and if not - should tell you why it isn't.

It may also prove useful if you run that also, and paste the output of it.

You can get it at this blog (http://forlong.blogage.de/entries/pages/Compiz-Check).

Regards
Iain

inobe
February 4th, 2010, 03:03 PM
i'm wondering if it will be the chromium driver, if yes' than it's possible to have desktop affects !

i had this with an intel gpu, i just kept trying to enable the affects, after two tries it worked.

s.fox
February 4th, 2010, 03:04 PM
Oh, forgot to ask.

What make and model of laptop are you using ? :D

verachion
February 4th, 2010, 03:07 PM
My goodness me, thankyou so much for your quick replies,