PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Enable "wobble" only

flyver
February 3rd, 2010, 07:17 PM
I'm fairly new to Linux, but I've worked quite a bit lately with this operating system, mostly trying Ubuntu, Xubuntu and Linux Mint.

I decided to for Xubuntu 9.10 on my notebook. I love the default Albatross theme and the icons and the general look, the only thing I have changed is "Compositor" (to enable shadows and opacity of windows decorations).

There is one more thing I would like to add, and that's the wobble effect. It seems I can only get this with Compiz, however Compiz changes my windows decorations just a little bit, but still I would like Compiz to leave that alone!

Is there any way I can activate only the wobble effect?

Thank you!

flyver
February 3rd, 2010, 08:35 PM
I would like to add that I have tried installing Ubuntu and then installing the XFCE environment, hoping I would then have access to the seemingly built-in Compiz "visual effects" tab. Seemed like a logical train of thought...

Also, although I only need "wobble" I don't mind having other visual effects. What I can't figure out is how to use Compiz without it interfering with the XFCE window manager, that is, my preferred settings regarding window titles, borders, icons... I love Albatross.

mcduck
February 3rd, 2010, 10:53 PM
I'm fairly new to Linux, but I've worked quite a bit lately with this operating system, mostly trying Ubuntu, Xubuntu and Linux Mint.

I decided to for Xubuntu 9.10 on my notebook. I love the default Albatross theme and the icons and the general look, the only thing I have changed is "Compositor" (to enable shadows and opacity of windows decorations).

There is one more thing I would like to add, and that's the wobble effect. It seems I can only get this with Compiz, however Compiz changes my windows decorations just a little bit, but still I would like Compiz to leave that alone!

Is there any way I can activate only the wobble effect?

Thank you!