PDA

View Full Version : [other] Problem with Dual Boot Linux Mint 8 - Boot to Black Screen

KingFeckless
February 3rd, 2010, 11:23 AM
Hi,

I hope I can find some help here, also keep in mind that I am a linux noob. After installing linux mint 8 (main, 32bit) and starting it via grub I end up having a black screen (no error message). Every support post I found seem to point in the direction of corrupted data so I checked the checksum of the download and used a live CD (burned with slowest speed) and also live USB, both with the same results. Is there something else I should check?

(hda -> XP / hdb -> Linux Mint 8)

Greets
Stefan

ajgreeny
February 3rd, 2010, 12:04 PM
Does the black screen have a flashing command line text or is it just totally black?

If you get to the command line it may be a graphics card driver problem or something similar, but to help further it will help to have more information on the hardware, particularly the graphics card, but as much as you know about.

If the live CD works and gives you a desktop (you don't say if it does or not) it should be possible to get the system up and running, but as I say, more info is needed, so from the desktop of the live CD run in terminal
sudo lshw > hardware.txt and send the resulting hardware.txt file to us here as an attachment. To do that use the paperclip icon on the reply text box, navigate to the file and upload it, just like an email atachment.

KingFeckless
February 3rd, 2010, 01:26 PM
Ah I forgot that, the live CD as well as live USB work fine. After I start LM8 I get a "_" in the top left corner for about a second and then it is just a pitch black screen.

Before I installed LM8 I was using LM7 without a problem.

I will post the hardware.txt here once I get home.

KingFeckless
February 3rd, 2010, 08:11 PM
As promised attached the hardware.txt.

While I read through that file I noticed it does not mention the grafic card (ATI Radeon 9600)....this might be a hint.

ajgreeny