PDA

View Full Version : Is SETI@Home a waste of time?

blueshiftoverwatch
February 3rd, 2010, 03:47 AM
I've been running SETI@Home on my computers for many years now, almost religiously. Unfortunately, after reading this article (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/science/7077464/Earth-becoming-invisible-to-aliens.html) I'm starting to think that it's all a waste of time.

Our planet has only been broadcasting radio waves into space for about the last 60 years and already it's going by the wayside due to a combination of wired landlines replacing radio waves, waves being shot at Earth by satellites instead of broadcast in all directions (and therefore, signals escaping into space) by radio towers, and probably less powerful radio waves even being needed in the first place to transmit the signals from point A to B because more sensitive equipment is being developed that can pick up signals from weaker transmitters.

Assuming that there are aliens close enough to Earth that are broadcasting their signals and assuming that they advanced technologically at about the same rate as we are on Earth. They probably went through the phase of broadcasting massive amounts of radio frequency "pollution" into space like we did in about the same timespan, around 60 years.

So, not only would Earth's radio telescopes need to be looking in exactly the right place on exactly the right frequencies. But they would also have a extraordinarily short window to do so. For all we know there could be aliens closer by than we think and we missed our 60 year window of opportunity to pick up their radio signals only several years before the first radio signals from distant stars were first scanned in 1960.

SoFl W
February 3rd, 2010, 03:53 AM
Who says other life forms use any type of radio waves to communicate? It might all just be plant and microbe life.

The WOW (http://www.damninteresting.com/the-wow-signal) signal!

yester64
February 3rd, 2010, 03:53 AM