PDA

View Full Version : Something I learned today...

samantha_
February 2nd, 2010, 03:36 AM
I work in IT support for a company in LA, today, i actually learned something useful...
and that is...
-- Be careful when putting your hand inside a computer --

I was installing a new network card... and unfortunately the old one somehow had firmly attached itself to the computer and refused to come out.
I pulled harder, and it did come out, but the USB card right next to it gave my arm a nasty cut.
Which is why from now on, im going to refrain from using excesive force to pull stuff off the motherboard.... ;)
I didnt know those things could be so sharp anyways....

whiskeylover
February 2nd, 2010, 03:41 AM
Cool story, Bro.

... or sis, in your case.

MasterNetra
February 2nd, 2010, 03:42 AM
I work in IT support for a company in LA, today, i actually learned something useful...
and that is...

I was installing a new network card... and unfortunately the old one somehow had firmly attached itself to the computer and refused to come out.
I pulled harder, and it did come out, but the USB card right next to it gave my arm a nasty cut.
Which is why from now on, im going to refrain from using excesive force to pull stuff off the motherboard.... ;)

Sounds like it belongs up with staying grounded while working on a PC. ^.^

ZeroSpawn
February 2nd, 2010, 03:43 AM
Been there done that. I suggest when removing cards use the "wiggle" method.

NightwishFan
February 2nd, 2010, 03:52 AM
A particularly nasty hard drive took me 5 minutes to remove. That is not including the screws of no size worth mentioning....

cariboo
February 2nd, 2010, 03:52 AM
+1 for the wiggle method. There are sharp things inside computer cases

JDShu
February 2nd, 2010, 03:59 AM
Sometimes when I'm fiddling with computer parts inside a computer or whatever, I pull my hand out and realize its bleeding all over the place.

Barriehie
February 2nd, 2010, 04:14 AM