PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 9.10 Live CD Won't Boot

gcs1984
February 1st, 2010, 10:57 PM
Years ago, when I first tried Ubuntu, I think it was version 7.(something), Ubuntu Live CDs always worked fine. But then, after there were a few kernel updates, they just stopped working. Sometimes changing the drive mode from IDE to RAID did the trick, sometimes it didn't. I've been moving back and forth from Ubuntu to Windows for the past 2-3 years. I've decided to install Ubuntu again today.

I downloaded the ISO file from the Ubuntu website, and burnt it onto a CD using PowerISO 4.2, at the maximum burn speed. I changed the drive mode from IDE to RAID, and tried to boot the CD. I get as far as the main menu, at which I choose the option "Try Ubuntu without changing your system". At this point, a white pulsing Ubuntu logo appears, and nothing else happens. I hear the CD drive spin down, to a stop. Then, it clicks five times (as if the computer is looking for something on the disk, but can't find it), and spins down again. It continues to do this indefinitely.

I tried setting the computer to IDE mode, no change.

I tried burning another disk, this time with a burn speed of 4x, no change.

From the main menu of the Live CD, I checked the disk, and it found two errors.

My computer is a Dell Inspiron 530. I am not computer savvy enough to say what parts such as motherboard or whatever are inside the computer, but I can say that they are all stock parts, I haven't changed or altered any of them.

What am I doing wrong? Why isn't Ubuntu working on my system? Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks for reading.

Edit: Also, when I burned the disk with PowerISO, I ticked off an option to check the disk when it was finished. An error came up, I think it said something like "Invalid Function".

Goldcoin
February 1st, 2010, 11:10 PM