PDA

View Full Version : enabling 4gb of ram under 32bit ubuntu...

pirlo89
February 1st, 2010, 09:51 PM
Hello everyone.

I have a 4GB of ram and my 32bit ubuntu tells me that i have 3.4GB . And i know that if i want to enable the full 4GB i have to Install PAE enabled kernel.

But the thing is that i have just reinstalled ubuntu (because of a problem with my ATI card) and i am afraid that installing PAE enabled kernel well mess up my system.

So any comments about how it went with you guys well be appreciated.

Also, i am a CS student and i write my software on my ubuntu OS. Will my code be affected by that ? (like if i declare a data type, will it affect how much it reserves for it?)

Thanks in advance :)!

samantha_
February 1st, 2010, 09:55 PM
Hello everyone.

I have a 4GB of ram and my 32bit ubuntu tells me that i have 3.4GB . And i know that if i want to enable the full 4GB i have to Install PAE enabled kernel.

But the thing is that i have just reinstalled ubuntu (because of a problem with my ATI card) and i am afraid that installing PAE enabled kernel well mess up my system.

So any comments about how it went with you guys well be appreciated.

Also, i am a CS student and i write my software on my ubuntu OS. Will my code be affected by that ? (like if i declare a data type, will it affect how much it reserves for it?)

Thanks in advance :)!
The PAE kernel doesnt change how your apps will function - it is still 32 bit.
Nope, many people have done it without messing up their system.

besides, there isnt a big difference between 3.4 and 4gb of ram.

NoaHall
February 1st, 2010, 09:56 PM
While in theory it makes your system run as 36bit as opposed to 32 bit(which is why more ram is supported), I don't think it affects your code(or at least, you don't need to do anything other than you would normally). Then again, I always use 64 bit, so I'm not sure on the practical side of it.

Skripka
February 1st, 2010, 09:57 PM