PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Advice on Win7/Ubuntu Partioning Scheme

FerretDefunct
February 1st, 2010, 08:39 PM
I'm a Linux newbie and hoping to get a little advice on setting up a partition scheme. I'm working with two 250GB drives, one for operating systems and the other for data storage/misc. So in short I'd like Windows 7 and Ubuntu 9.10 running on the first 250GB. From what I've been reading I've tried to put together the following setup:

100MB - Windows 7 System Reserved Partition
100GB - Windows 7 Install + Applications
10GB - Windows 7 Page File + Temp Files
20GB - Ubuntu /root
10GB - Ubuntu /swap
+/-50GB - Ubuntu /home (Will adjust size to fill out drive.)

As I said I'm fuzzy on the Linux partitions, my main questions:

Do I need to create a 500MB /boot partition at the start of the drive infront of the Windows 7 install?

Do I need a /var partition?

Do Linux applications install to /root or /home?

I'm not worried about storing data (images, music, documents, etc.) on this drive as I keep a separate partition on the second drive for that. The partition is NTFS but, as I understand it, I can access that data through Linux despite this. My system memory is 8GB and running on a x64 processor. The system is for personal use and used primarily for application software and gaming. I plan to spend most of my time in Windows, as such I would consider it the "primary" OS on the system. Thanks for any help you guys can throw my way.

phillw
February 1st, 2010, 10:18 PM
I'm a Linux newbie and hoping to get a little advice on setting up a partition scheme. I'm working with two 250GB drives, one for operating systems and the other for data storage/misc. So in short I'd like Windows 7 and Ubuntu 9.10 running on the first 250GB. From what I've been reading I've tried to put together the following setup:

100MB - Windows 7 System Reserved Partition
100GB - Windows 7 Install + Applications
10GB - Windows 7 Page File + Temp Files
20GB - Ubuntu /root