PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Opening Trash causes desktop icons to disappear!

Wtwine
February 1st, 2010, 09:36 AM
Hi

My computer (running on Jaunty) has just all-of-a-sudden started behaving strangely when I attempt to open trash, either by clicking the icon in the bottom panel or in Nautilus. The icons on my desktop disappear and Trash doesn't open. Nautilus also seems to slow down, e.g. when navigating to files. If I restart, the desktop icons re-appear, and everything works fine, until I click on trash again....

I have never had problems opening trash before. Any idea what's going on :confused:

I'm a relative noob, so please keep it simple.

Thanks

Tamlynmac
February 1st, 2010, 10:13 PM
I have one thought (only one at a time - LOL).

Which icon theme are you using and is it one of the original default themes or did you install a new themes after your original Ubuntu installation? For example, did you customize your icon theme? Or, it may be possible that your system was setup with a customized theme.
(system/preferences/appearance/theme tab/customize/icons tab

You might check which icon theme your using and perhaps even select a different theme to test. Simply left click on "Human" (assuming your not using it) or another one of the default themes then close the customize window and the appearance window. Then try opening trash. If the problem still exists - to return to your theme, simply duplicate the above instructions and left click on your original theme, then close both windows. No harm - no foul.

I've experienced some strange issues using custom icons themes. Especially, with Nautilus and trash.

I just recalled one other problem I've had, it was an update that effected my trash applet in 9.04. I simply deleted my trash icon in the panel and reinstalled. The problem disappeared. It's another simple test that may resolve your issue.