PDA

View Full Version : no window borders,cant use terminal



soryu
January 30th, 2010, 05:37 PM
i turned on my pc today and there are no window borders and when i open a terminal it's all white?
compiz plug ins are enabled.

wojox
January 30th, 2010, 05:40 PM
Go to System > Preferences > CompizConfig Settings Manager and make sure the Window Decorations plugin is checked.

soryu
January 30th, 2010, 05:42 PM
checked,enabled

MelDJ
January 30th, 2010, 05:44 PM
try refreshing compiz

soryu
January 30th, 2010, 05:51 PM
how do i refresh?

sisco311
January 30th, 2010, 05:51 PM
Press Alt+F2 and run:

metacity --replace
or if you are using emerald:

emerald --replace

soryu
January 30th, 2010, 05:57 PM
thank's sisco fixed it borders and terminal back. on to my next prob.

soryu
January 30th, 2010, 06:04 PM
well ,i restarted and had to do the same thing.alt+f2 metacity- --replace.

how do i make it startup normally?

falconindy
January 30th, 2010, 06:51 PM
In your Window Decorator plugin options should be a text box that specifies the window decorator command. If this is blank, add 'metacity --replace'.

soryu
January 30th, 2010, 07:04 PM
restarted my pc again and the borders are there.

there is a command there but it is /usr/bin/compiz-deco

ill restart again if the borders dont show up i will change it.thank's

it's weird that plug-in has been enabled and i haven't touched it.