PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu Studio 9.10 64bit to dual boot with existing windows XP OS

Miscible21
January 29th, 2010, 04:48 PM
Im so confused.

I have been using ubuntu for a little while so i'm not a total newbie. But im not very confident with installing the latest verion of ubuntu studio. Previously i upgraded to ubuntu studio through the terminal window from Jaunty. This time i want to do a fresh install via a DVD. I tried earlier but the part im confused about is the partitioning and formatting process. I have 2 hardrives. One of my hard drives has my XP OS on it along with my entire life. So I cant afford to make a mistake. The other has an older 32bit version of ubuntu studio on it.

I have looked online but I havent found much help. What i was thinking of is just unplugging my windows drive, doing a fresh install on the other. But then i wouldnt know what to expect when i boot up and plug in the XP drive.

I would be so grateful for some detailed help. Thankyou in advance.

kansasnoob
January 29th, 2010, 04:55 PM
What i was thinking of is just unplugging my windows drive, doing a fresh install on the other. But then i wouldnt know what to expect when i boot up and plug in the XP drive.

That is actually a very good idea. Then if BIOS and/or cabling is set so that the Ubuntu drive boots first, and if this install has grub2, adding Windows should be as simple as running:

sudo update-grub

raymondh
January 29th, 2010, 05:02 PM
+ 1 if you really want to make sure you don't touch your win HD

Miscible21
January 29th, 2010, 06:02 PM
That is actually a very good idea. Then if BIOS and/or cabling is set so that the Ubuntu drive boots first, and if this install has grub2, adding Windows should be as simple as running:

sudo update-grub