PDA

View Full Version : You know you're a noob when...



Leppie
January 29th, 2010, 12:57 AM
you've got a x64 system and only discover it after 1 yr... ](*,)
i just booted off a x64 livecd and all works fine... #-o

kevin11951
January 29th, 2010, 12:59 AM
you've got a x64 system and only discover it after 1 yr... ](*,)
i just booted off a x64 livecd and all works fine... #-o

What make and model of processor do you have?

Leppie
January 29th, 2010, 01:01 AM
What make and model of processor do you have?
Intel T3400

TheNessus
January 29th, 2010, 01:06 AM
Intel T3400

it can be 32 and can be 64, yes.

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 01:07 AM
Just so you don't think you can live this down.

:-({|=](*,):-({|=](*,)#-o:lolflag:):P:twisted:

Skripka
January 29th, 2010, 01:10 AM
you've got a x64 system and only discover it after 1 yr... ](*,)
i just booted off a x64 livecd and all works fine... #-o

Rule of thumb, if your computer/CPU was made after 2003-it will be 64bit capable.

XubuRoxMySox
January 29th, 2010, 01:11 AM
...when you find a daemon in Synaptic and wonder if you installed the Satanic Edition by mistake.

-Robin

Kai69
January 29th, 2010, 01:19 AM
Question what is a zombie ??

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 01:27 AM
Question what is a zombie ??

Hey Kai, how you been?

Last time I checked, zombies were still dead guys that wandered about, arms out stretched going uunngghghhh, looking for brains.

Leppie
January 29th, 2010, 01:27 AM
...when you find a daemon in Synaptic and wonder if you installed the Satanic Edition by mistake.

-Robin
i'e always liked the satanic edition :D

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 01:28 AM
Zombie processes:

http://www.linuxsa.org.au/tips/zombies.html

cgb
January 29th, 2010, 01:33 AM
Rule of thumb, if your computer/CPU was made after 2003-it will be 64bit capable.

Unfortunately not 100% accurate since I believe quite a few of the atom processors are 32bit.

Leppie
January 29th, 2010, 01:38 AM
Last time I checked, zombies were still dead guys that wandered about, arms out stretched going uunngghghhh, looking for brains.
zombie is what i see in the mirror before i have my morning coffee...

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 01:43 AM
zombie is what i see in the mirror before i have my morning coffee...

Coffee keeps your hunger for brains at bay? I'll have to try that!

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 01:45 AM
And yet another thread takes the long fall into the abyss of indignity.

Leppie
January 29th, 2010, 01:54 AM
And yet another thread takes the long fall into the abyss of indignity.
did i have to start a dignified thread?

sandyd
January 29th, 2010, 02:06 AM
when you cant figure out what SATA controler your using and cant distinguish between the ICHx drivers and the ICH9/10 drivers...
and later ending up pounding your head against the desk wondering why it keeps on saying "waiting for root device".... (hackintosh..... shhh.....)

Pauly BC
January 29th, 2010, 02:14 AM
... you believe bugs with Linux could be solved more efficiently if the various distros would just work together. Can't we all just get along?

blueshiftoverwatch
January 29th, 2010, 02:19 AM
You spend 4 hours trying to get RAID setup. Only to realize that all you had to do was plug your SATA cables into the correct SATA slots and enable RAID from the BIOS. Which took about 5 minutes, most of which was spent opening up your case.

ubunterooster
January 29th, 2010, 02:29 AM
Hey Kai, how you been?

Last time I checked, zombies were still dead guys that wandered about, arms out stretched going uunngghghhh, looking for brains.
That's me on less then 6 hrs sleep! well, thats how i feel...

Old_Grey_Wolf
January 29th, 2010, 02:34 AM
Although my list is very long, I have chosen two of my favorite Noob issues.

You know you are a noob when:

You type HELP!!! as the title of your thread.

You don't know how to get to the terminal.

:lolflag:

Kai69
January 29th, 2010, 02:35 AM
Hi warface hows it going? Zombies i thought they were only in horror films but found one in processes But has now left the building

audiomick
January 29th, 2010, 03:17 AM
...you spend 15 minutes wondering why your laptop can't find the wireless connection before you you remember the wireless is switched off at the router.

lisati
January 29th, 2010, 03:18 AM
you've got a x64 system and only discover it after 1 yr... ](*,)
i just booted off a x64 livecd and all works fine... #-o

Took me four years with my desktop! :D Sadly, it has a single core processor :(

baddog144
January 29th, 2010, 03:19 AM
Took me four years with my desktop! :D Sadly, it has a single core processor :(

Took me 2 years with a Core 2 Duo T7200. *sigh*
Oh well, running Ubuntu 64-bit at last.

cascade9
January 29th, 2010, 03:45 AM
Rule of thumb, if your computer/CPU was made after 2003-it will be 64bit capable.

Completely and utterly wrong.

The 1st Intels that had consistent support for x86_64 was the Pentuim 4 HT 6xx series. Released Febuary 2005. I think that the 1st Intel to support 64bit was the Pentium 4 HT 3.2F, August 2004. But I'm not sure on that.

The majority of CPUs were 32bit only until at least 2005 and probably later than that. The 2004/05 P4s were 'top end' parts, and that is release date. It takes a while for parts to start flowing down the chain....

sandyd
January 29th, 2010, 03:49 AM
Completely and utterly wrong.

The 1st Intels that had consistent support for x86_64 was the Pentuim 4 HT 6xx series. Released Febuary 2005. I think that the 1st Intel to support 64bit was the Pentium 4 HT 3.2F, August 2004. But I'm not sure on that.
<snip>
+ the Intel Xenon Nocona processors ;) which were released along with the P4HT line.

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 01:44 PM
... you believe bugs with Linux could be solved more efficiently if the various distros would just work together. Can't we all just get along?

I'm getting tired of the obligatory new weekly threads about this one. Linux diversity is, and always will be, its strength.

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 01:48 PM
+ the Intel Xenon Nocona processors ;) which were released along with the P4HT line.

I've got a P4 HT and it is not 64 MB. You know you're a noob when you keep checking every few months to make sure hoping you were wrong that dozen times you looked.

spiderbatdad
January 29th, 2010, 02:09 PM
...when you find yourself reading a thread titled, "You know you're a noob when..."

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 02:14 PM
...when you find yourself reading a thread titled, "You know you're a noob when..."

When you find yourself creating the thread. Sorry Leppie. I know I said I'd stop but I just couldn't help it.

audiomick
January 29th, 2010, 03:51 PM
Hey Leppie,
you might find this helpful...
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=798907#post8732048
;)

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 04:03 PM
No sinister Avatar yet? How about some PA speakers made out of the booster cones of Polaris ballistic missiles!?:twisted:

n0dix
January 29th, 2010, 04:08 PM
You know you're a noob when...
1. you don't look at the ubuntu forums first.
2. try to use google too.

In MORE of the cases your problem it has post by another.

llawwehttam
January 29th, 2010, 04:09 PM
I'm getting tired of the obligatory new weekly threads about this one. Linux diversity is, and always will be, its strength.

Your not the only one.

Skripka
January 29th, 2010, 04:45 PM
Completely and utterly wrong.


I wouldn't say that. The 1st AMD64 Opterons came out in 2003, and their line was quick to support the amd64 instruction set.

Intel Pentiums began supporting 64bit in 2004, as I recall.

Today, it is MUCH more likely than not that someone is running a 64bit processor. Some Atoms support IA64 also-so it is not as cut and dry at all as one would like. Thanks Intel.

cascade9
January 30th, 2010, 05:05 AM
I wouldn't say that. The 1st AMD64 Opterons came out in 2003, and their line was quick to support the amd64 instruction set.

Intel Pentiums began supporting 64bit in 2004, as I recall.


Rule of thumb, if your computer/CPU was made after 2003-it will be 64bit capable.

Yeah, the opterons supported 64bit from 2003. How many people used them? Not many...Athlon64, which was the 1st 'mainstream' CPU to support 64bit, and they were late 2003 as well.

Yeah, well, the very, very 1st P4s to support 64bit were 2004. But Intel was still releasing P4s that didnt support 64bit in 2004. Intel has always had the majority of the market (apart from possibly one brief time when Cyrix were still viable), and it its not like Intel releases a CPU and suddenly you cant get the older models anymore. It takes a while...a long while really..for the older models to stop being avaible. That means that there is no way that your original statement is correct.

Hence "completely and utterly wrong"

warfacegod
January 30th, 2010, 05:15 AM
Anybody know what the architecture is on a Cray II super computer?

mechro
January 30th, 2010, 05:28 AM
... you know you're a noob when you say Doric?

warfacegod
January 30th, 2010, 05:29 AM
... you know you're a noob when you say Doric?

Probably makes you a doric too.

cascade9
January 30th, 2010, 05:33 AM
Anybody know what the architecture is on a Cray II super computer?

Yep.

Its Cray 1. ;) The only difference between them is that the Cray 2 has more processors, more vector pipes and faster clocking.

Technically.....its some sort of vector architecture.

lisati
January 30th, 2010, 05:40 AM
Completely and utterly wrong.

The 1st Intels that had consistent support for x86_64 was the Pentuim 4 HT 6xx series. Released Febuary 2005. I think that the 1st Intel to support 64bit was the Pentium 4 HT 3.2F, August 2004. But I'm not sure on that.

The majority of CPUs were 32bit only until at least 2005 and probably later than that. The 2004/05 P4s were 'top end' parts, and that is release date. It takes a while for parts to start flowing down the chain....

My main desktop was first marketed in June 2005, and came with an AMD SEMPRON 3200+ CPU (definitely 64bit but single core). Specs (as shipped) attached - mine has more RAM, a PCI video card, and an extra DVD burner. I have a extra ethernet card that I might put back in one day if I figure out a use for it.....

warfacegod
January 30th, 2010, 05:40 AM
Yep.

Its Cray 1. ;) The only difference between them is that the Cray 2 has more processors, more vector pipes and faster clocking.

Technically.....its some sort of vector architecture.

Know where I can get one? I want to put Mythbuntu on it.

mamamia88
January 30th, 2010, 05:44 AM
don't worry dude i didn't realize it either until i started using linux.

cascade9
January 30th, 2010, 06:19 AM
My main desktop was first marketed in June 2005, and came with an AMD SEMPRON 3200+ CPU (definitely 64bit but single core). Specs (as shipped) attached - mine has more RAM, a PCI video card, and an extra DVD burner. I have a extra ethernet card that I might put back in one day if I figure out a use for it.....

That might be luck more than anything else-



AMD64 supported by: all models with an OPN ending in BW

Sempron 3200+ 1800 MHz 256 KB 800 MHz 9x 1.35-1.40 V 62 W
SDA3200DIO3BP
SDA3200DIO3BWhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_AMD_Sempron_microprocessors

2 different CPUs, with EXACTLY the same name, running on the same socket, but 1 is 64bit, 1 is 32bit.

That is what I meant by 'at least 2005'. If you look at the "Palermo" secion on that page, there were 32bit socket 754 (meant to be a 'cut down/consumer' version of socket 939 which was 64bit only) semperons released in 2005.


Know where I can get one? I want to put Mythbuntu on it.

Nah, but if I find one around I'll mail it over to you :biggrin: BTW, be careful with that florinert, its nasty stuff.

warfacegod
January 30th, 2010, 03:44 PM
May be harmful if inhaled. No health effect expected if swallowed.

cascade9
January 30th, 2010, 04:13 PM
May be harmful if inhaled. No health effect expected if swallowed.

Heh, wiki. Sometimes its a bit light.

'Expected' is kind of worrying :|

(sorry, no citation, to lazy to find one) Fluorinert breaks down into some nasty poisonous gas is its exposed to electrical arcing. IIRC, all the cray models cooled with fluorinert has a sensor to detect that gas.

fromthehill
January 30th, 2010, 04:19 PM
you try to install rpm packages because you don't know ubuntu uses .deb

Leppie
January 30th, 2010, 04:42 PM
you've downloaded some binaries and then open a thread on this forum stating that "setup.exe" isn't working...

warfacegod
January 30th, 2010, 04:50 PM
You're helping someone and have to go figure out what Sea Monkey is, like I just did.