PDA

View Full Version : How often do you have problems with Ubuntu?

Macfunky
January 29th, 2010, 12:30 AM
I once in awhile have to reboot because my box freezes. Not as often as Windows and admittedly it's when i've been messing about with it. Usually it's well behaved. So in general my questions are (for a production desktop) -

-How often do you reboot?

-How often does your computer freeze?

Also how do you in general find Ubuntu's stability? I find it great and it's only went weird when messing about with it. Left to it's own devices i find it sturdy.

RabbitWho
January 29th, 2010, 12:44 AM
Yes i've upset it a few times by deleting things etc. but i've never had a single problem I didn't cause myself.

It's never frozen or crashed.

vrkalak
January 29th, 2010, 12:47 AM
I have been using Ubuntu for about 2 years now.
And in all that time, I have never had the computer 'freeze' or 'crash' on me . . . no black-screen of death.

I have never had the browser 'freeze' on me either. Been using and testing Firefox 3.5.5, 3.6 Beta 4, 3.7 Alpha 1 ... no problems to speak of. No 'grayed screen'

The only times I have 'had' to re-boot is when I do a dist-upgrade or installed a newer kernel . . after which a re-start of the computer is required. Other than that, rarely, do I re-boot/re-start the computer.

I have upgraded my OS a couple of times to Alpha or Beta versions of the next edition of Ubuntu. For instance, I am now using Xubuntu Lucid Lynx 10.04 Alpha 2. I upgraded to Lucid when it first went into Alpha 1. I have only had a couple of minor problems with a distro being in such early stages of development. Easily, fixed ... No problems that I didn't cause myself.

I bet, that my computer runs and is usually on-line uninterupted for months at a time. With no 'freezes' or necessary re-starts.

blur xc
January 29th, 2010, 12:49 AM