PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] !PLEASE HELP! Installing tar.bz2?

jdgregson
January 28th, 2010, 11:05 PM
Okay, so I'm new to Linux. So far I kind of like it, but I'm very frustrated about trying to install tar.bz2 files. I've found tutorial after tutorial on the web, which all say to do it a little different, but they all have one thing in common, it never works. The problem usually comes when I get to the "make" command. So far what I've learned to do is this, tar -xjvf example-0.0.3.tar.bz2 > ./configure > make > make install. The problem seems to be when I type "make" it says "make: *** no targets specified and no makefile found. stop." I've tried it several different ways and they all come to the same/similar result. Can someone give me a complete, detailed, from the time I get the tar.bz2 to the time it's finished installing and ready do use, step by step, key stroke by key stroke, click by click tutorial on how to install a tar.bz2 in Ubuntu? This is important for me to learn, because almost everything for Linux comes like this.

snowpine
January 28th, 2010, 11:10 PM
tar.bz2 is simply a type of archive (like .zip in Windows). Literally anything could be inside that archive.

Can you be more specific about which application you're trying to install? Most apps you could possibly need are easy to install using the Ubuntu Software Center.

r_s
January 28th, 2010, 11:15 PM
well, tar.bz2 is just a method of compressing a folder , you can extract its content easily , and then the installation would depend on the files that are present in this folder and it's just not tar.bz2 that is followed there are plenty of these formats.. you need to give a little more detail.

darkod
January 28th, 2010, 11:15 PM
I don't know what are you trying to install but tar.bz2 is compressed archive like zip. I would suggest splitting the process. Ubuntu has Archive Manager by default. Just right clcik any tar.bz2 file and you should see option Open with Archive Manager.