PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Windows Vista -- Two HDs

virsto
January 27th, 2010, 07:37 PM
I have Windows Vista installed on one of my physical HDs (my C:\ drive with a 250GB capacity). My other physical HD (with D:\ and E:\) has a 750GB capacity and over 500GB free.

I am completely new to Ubuntu and have prepared a CD for installation of vers. 9.10-desktop-i386. I would like to place it on the same physical drive as D:\ and E:\. I have also just finshed a complete backup of this HD.

Should I partition the HD (containing D:\ and E:\) before starting the installation, and if yes, how should I perform this partitioning?

Thank you!

darkod
January 27th, 2010, 07:50 PM
If you finished a complete backup of the second hdd, and assuming windows installation is on C:, the easiest thing is deleting all partitions instead of resizing.
Boot with ubuntu cd, Try Ubuntu option, and open Gparted (System-Administration). Top right select the correct hdd.
Delete all partitions on it. Click the big green tick mark button in Gparted toolbar to execute your commands (otherwise they are just shceduled and exiting Gparted will not make any change on your hdd).
Then create one or two primary partitions as ntfs, with size as much as you want. Leave the rest of the hdd as unallocated, do not create any partitions for linux at that moment. Again you have to execute the commands with the green button.
When that is done reboot without the cd in windows and check if all is fine. Put back your data in the newly created partitions but keep your backup still.
Go into BIOS and make the second drive to be first boot option.