PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to change from desktop to server?

Poloperson57
January 27th, 2010, 05:30 PM
Hi,

Sorry for the basic question, but I'm very new to Linux.

If I have installed ubuntu v9.10 desktop for example, what are the steps I need to go through to convert this to a server version?

I understand the Kernel for the server is different to that of the desktop. Is there a stragihtforward way to change the kernel as well?

Thanks

nerdy_kid
January 27th, 2010, 06:52 PM
sudo apt-get remove ubuntu-desktop
sudo apt-get autoremove

and then to the server kernel, i think would be this:

sudo apt-get install linux-server

all you get is a commandline, and if your are new to linux the LAST thing i would be doing is trying out a server version. Maybe if you had windows server experience, but i still wouldnt do it.

mcduck
January 27th, 2010, 10:11 PM
Also keep in mind that the desktop version is capable of running all the same server software as the server version is. The only difference between the two versions is what packages are installed out-of-the-box. Technically they are both exactly the same Ubuntu. You can install any desktop aps you want on server version, and any server stuff you want on the desktop version.

So unless you are low on resources there is no reason to remove the desktop stuff from your system. Just install whatever server apps you want.

(you can of course also install the server kernel, but unless the machine really is intended for some heavy server use that won't give you any benefits. Both kernels are capable of running exactly the same stuff, the difference is how they balance with different tasks. Desktop kernel is optimized for all normal computer usage from desktop use to server use, while server kernel is optimized for running lots and lots of background tasks.)

Devi1903
January 27th, 2010, 10:17 PM