PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How do I get a flatscreen to work with laptop?

theopneustos
January 27th, 2010, 04:58 PM
I loaded Ubuntu CE 9.10 on my HP Pavillion laptop. Up till now, I used this laptop with XP home edition like a desktop PC and have a seperate 19" screen (Genisat 9005L) So, the laptop is mostly closed while I use the flatscreen, so convenient.

When I start Ubuntu, the flatscreen (plugged into the VGA port) just flickers a purple array of colours, but the laptop's screen functions well.

I am an absolute beginner with Ubuntu, is there any solution? How can I get the flatscreen to work?

moody_mark
January 27th, 2010, 05:05 PM
Hi, open up your laptop so your have a workable screen, go to the "System --> Preferences --> Display" menu, you'll open up a dialog box for display preferences, you should see the two screens in there. You can click on the screen and change the resolution size and such the like.

warfacegod
January 27th, 2010, 05:35 PM
You may need to go to: System> Admin.> Hardware Drivers and activate the recommended video driver.

theopneustos
January 27th, 2010, 08:20 PM
Hi, open up your laptop so your have a workable screen, go to the "System --> Preferences --> Display" menu, you'll open up a dialog box for display preferences, you should see the two screens in there. You can click on the screen and change the resolution size and such the like.
I tried this, on your advise, but it only shows 1 screen. Try as i like, it doesn't detect the flatscreen

theopneustos
January 27th, 2010, 08:23 PM
You may need to go to: System> Admin.> Hardware Drivers and activate the recommended video driver.
I tried, but when I search for drivers, i just get the reply "No propriety drivers are in use on this system".
It also doesn't show any drivers listed.

tom.swartz07
January 27th, 2010, 08:52 PM
I tried, but when I search for drivers, i just get the reply "No propriety drivers are in use on this system".

What video card do you have?