PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation problems

NardDawg
January 27th, 2010, 02:48 PM
Hey!

So im new to this and so forth..

I have installed a clean install of Ubuntu 9.10 on my laptop and dualbooted with WinXP on the PC. (Had to install with wubi) I am very impressed naturally and decide to remove WinXP once and for all.

WinXP was installed on the first partition on the first drive and ubuntu on the second partition. So I accidentally my whole MBR :P

I tried the whole day yesterday to fix grub2 and grub and tried to repair the xp bootloader but nothing worked.

So I finally decided to try to format and do a clean install.

Tried the Live CD:
It cant boot or install because it says
"This kernel requires an x86-64 CPU, but only detected an i686 CPU.
Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU."

either that or it hangs

Tried the Alternate Install CD:
Everything works until it tries to install the base system.
I get an error saying that some files a corrupt
I have Burned 4 different discs on 2 different burners at high and low speed and the md5sum checks out ok! Weird!

I have a Penitum 4 HT 2.80ghz

Anyone have any ideas because im all out...
Worst case scenario I have to install XP again and install through wubi but I really dont want to dual boot.

Well any help is greatly appreciated!!

Bartender
January 27th, 2010, 03:32 PM
My first guess is that the optical drive on the PC you're trying to install to might be losing its tolerances. We take for granted that our optical drives should "just work" without thinking too much about what they actually have to do, which is accurately read millions of miniscule transitions on the disc surface and translate those transitions to 0's and 1's.

Optical drives are relatively easy to move around. Might want to try whichever drive you feel most confident about.