PDA

View Full Version : Server or Desktop for headless

mbro0
January 27th, 2010, 12:41 PM
Hi all,

I am a total noob with regards Linux so will undoubtedly frequent this board asking some lame questions in the coming weeks.

At present I am trying to setup a LAMP Server on an old desktop machine I have lying about, however there is not going to be a keyboard, monitor or mouse attached beyond the installation process.

My question simply is am I best installing the server or desktop version of Ubuntu for this requirement?

I have been playing with Desktop 9.04 and found it tough to use headlessly, however understand that Server 9.04 fully supports headless access.

Being a newbie I do prefer to use the GUI to make changes and generally play around, so a UI such as GNOME would be essential. Having read about I understand the best way to access remotely is to install SSHServer and VNCServer and then login over SSH and VNC into the box.

My remote machine I will use to connect to Ubuntu is a ******* 7/XP machine.

I appreciate any help.

Thanks

bullgr
January 27th, 2010, 12:50 PM
ubuntu server is the only way you need to go...

yes, yes, i know, it is difficult... but if you master ubuntu server you'l be the hapiest man in the world!!!

and you can do anything you want...

of course there are many different arguments... the point is that anyone is free to work as he like... for me, the command line is better for servers than gui... for others, they prefer to use gui (like redhat users). choose that you make you more comfort... either command line of gui, whe only that matters is to do your job.

note: you can use command line and manage many things (almost all) from the web based webmin (http://www.webmin.com/) that is also in the ubuntu repos ready to install.

mbro0
January 27th, 2010, 01:02 PM
Thanks for the reply.