PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Questions about C++

smdawson
January 26th, 2010, 02:43 AM
I am a c++ newb, just to give you a reference point. I am taking a class in college right now and my homework is writing a program that performs simple addition. I am pretty sure I know how to successfully do this. My question is, what do "using" statements do? In my homework I am supposed to "write the necessary using statements" in my program.

Some examples of using statements in my book show
using std::cin;
(or)
using std::cout;
(or)
using std::endl;

I thought "#include <iostream>" named routines I could use, like input/output. So what does the using statement do?

lisati
January 26th, 2010, 02:49 AM
I'm fairly new to C++ as well, but believe the "using" statement is connected with the idea of a "namespace (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Namespace_(computer_science))".

smdawson
January 26th, 2010, 03:41 AM
Yeah, I just built the previously mentioned program. when I didn't specify "using namespace std;" I had to write a "using statement" for each routine(not sure if that's correct terminology) So I guess the namespace is a group of predefined routines that are commonly used. the "using statements" can be used to specifiy things not in the namespace, or you can just write it a couple different ways. I think...maybe

Can+~
January 26th, 2010, 03:47 AM
One of the problems on C, is having function names clash with each other. Sometimes you declare a function "void foo(int *bar)", and you accidentally create a function with the same name, or viceversa.

It's more a semantical issue, for example, you may want to use the word "append" for a certain task (add an element to a list) but also you would like to use "append" for adding something to the end of a file. So while in C you would do "file_append", "list_append", to circumvent this issue, C++ provides you a language element to do it, which are called "namespaces".