PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] need help with grub boot loading

panterus
January 26th, 2010, 01:08 AM
i am completely new to ubuntu/linux/unix, in other words i dont know bash commands. now the problem, i downloaded and installed ubuntu on an external drive as my internal is dying but has vista installed on it, im using the near dead hard drive to carefully install ubuntu on the external before it locks up. anyway, the install went fine and i downloaded wine 1.2 and the needed ubdates and even git ?? before that, then it needed to reboot before the updates would take effect, so i rebooted. when it booted back up i selected ubuntu in the list and it partially loaded then left me with the grub command line and saying it would accept limited bash commands and typing help or pressing tab gets me a list of commands all of which i am unfamiliar with from my old days in DOS, so i cant tell it to boot without a kernel name apparently right? what are my options from this grub...place...thing...stuff? can it at least show me a list of bootable "kernels"?:-s

details: installed ubuntu 9.10-desktop-i386 using the windows install method as i dont currently have any empty dvds or large thumb drives just a few r/w cds

panterus
January 26th, 2010, 01:33 AM
bump: need info soon if possible:popcorn:

audiomick
January 26th, 2010, 01:59 AM
details: installed ubuntu 9.10-desktop-i386 using the windows install method as i dont currently have any empty dvds or large thumb drives just a few r/w cds

Do you mean a wubi install? That would be: windows is running and you install from the CD

or

You booted the computer with the CD in the drive and installed from the Ubuntu menu that appears?

If it is a wubi install, I think you might be headed in the wrong direction.

I haven't done one, but as I understand it, a wubi install is within the windows install. That means, if your windows is dying, the wubi ubuntu will die with it, I think.

panterus
January 26th, 2010, 02:14 AM