PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Stop Thief

Roland TD-12 Rat
January 25th, 2010, 09:05 PM
Hi all,
I have a sister who is a ground breaking artist. www.daphne-dorney.co.uk
sadly she has been cracked and sabotaged on a number of occasions. I am aware that linux is generally more secure than WINDOWS :-( but, I really don't understand the mechanics. Can someone enlighten me ii lay man's terms?

REDace0
January 25th, 2010, 09:08 PM
I'm not a security expert, but generally Linux is more secure than windows because it is rarer to give the user Super User or Administrator authority than it is in Windows. Regarding the security of her website, I'm sure the Ubuntu users who run their own web servers will need more info about the hacks so they can figure out why her site is being breached.

Grenage
January 25th, 2010, 09:13 PM
It is, and it isn't (are there ever clear-cut answers).

Linux has a tiny market share compared to Windows, so tools and techniques that are sculpted for the masses don't work on it. Linux distributions also tend to use more secure methods by default.

In all honestly, user habit make the biggest difference; never install software that you can't trust! How many people download random executables and install them, just to get some 'hilarious' emotes?

Use different passwords (and possibly user names) on different accounts. Many people use the same password for their hotmail and 100 other online services, when one is compromised, they all are.

If it's the web server itself that's been compromised, well then that's down to the host to look at (within reason). Both Apache and IIS can be very secure.

cdenley
January 25th, 2010, 09:40 PM
Hi all,
I have a sister who is a ground breaking artist. www.daphne-dorney.co.uk
sadly she has been cracked and sabotaged on a number of occasions. I am aware that linux is generally more secure than WINDOWS :-( but, I really don't understand the mechanics. Can someone enlighten me ii lay man's terms?