PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] stability 9.10

grip82
January 25th, 2010, 01:36 PM
I've been using ubuntu for a few years now. In the beginning there were always some small problems which annoyed be but lately, ubuntu has been great for me. I've been running 9.10 for a while and even though it didn't feel as stable to me as 9.04 (for example, eclipse was broken), it was fine.

But now I've bought new hardware and did a fresh install of 9.10, this time the 64bit version. It was like being launched, not to beta, but to alpha-land. Is this because this is the 64bit version (which I haven't used in a while), or is it because it's 9.10 ?

A few examples:
- Huge memory leak. Just after boot, my system uses 400mb RAM. When I open my taskmanager, I see this increasing in no time to 1GB, and after an hour or so it's at 3GB. If I scroll up and down in firefox, it costs me 4mb. I already got it to consume all my RAM memory, and it completely killed my computer after a couple of hours.
- Write speeds on ext4 when using mysql. One word: super-slow. I think I can do it faster by pouncing cards.
- Video driver crash, screen flipped out, end of story, reboot.
- Flash crashes at least once every 30min.
- (I can go on) ...

I'm not searching for answers for these specific problems. In fact, I found most with google. I was just wondering if 9.10 is known for these stability issues? Or is this because of the 64bit version? I know you can tweak everything and trace memory leaks, and recompile libs and format your drive to ext3 but my time is limited and every hour spent configuring my OS is an hour less development. :)

phillw
January 25th, 2010, 02:15 PM
Hi,

Hmmm, sounds like a very unhappy computer. Whilst not the solution you're looking for - that, as you say, can come with digging around and tracing - given time, which you don't have a lot of.