PDA

View Full Version : Basic programming language

kpsg25690
January 25th, 2010, 01:11 PM
Hey!
I wanted to get a head start on learning BASIC as i have use for it later in my curriculum for programing micro-controllers..

I wanted to know a good and easy application(or IDE) to start..

I have some experience with C and C++..

I have tried using Basic-256 but it seems to be buggy for Ubuntu..

I am using karmic...
any help is appreciated..
:D

saif_held
January 25th, 2010, 01:53 PM
I heard Kbasic is good, I never tried it though but it might work out for you.

kpsg25690
January 26th, 2010, 08:37 AM
I'll try it out and get back..
downloading it now...
meanwhile any other suggestions would be appreciated..

Tony Flury
January 26th, 2010, 09:20 AM
I would be very careful with BASIC.

Unlike C, C++, Python, JAVA etc which are more or less governed by as set of international standards, and which most implementation abide by, BASIC (although it does in theory have an international Standard) there are many fundamentally different dialects - for instance BBC Basic and Microsoft Visual BASIC - both dialects of the simple language but with very different features, and learning BBC Basic does not actually help really when you try to learn Visual Basic.

If I were you I would try to discover which dialect of Basic you will be using, and if you can get an implementation of that dialect, if you don't you could end up learning features of a dialect which don't exist (or even worse work in a different way) in the dialect which you need to use later on during your study.

lisati
January 26th, 2010, 09:23 AM
There's also FreeBASIC (http://www.freebasic.net/)

underquark
January 26th, 2010, 09:29 AM
OP - which micro-controller? It's likely got its own requirements for a subset of BASIC or a BASIC with proprietary features. To get the most out of the micro-controller will probably mean using every trick available for that device.

kpsg25690
January 27th, 2010, 04:05 PM
first of all,