PDA

View Full Version : Programming advice please.

Schotty
January 25th, 2010, 11:54 AM
Greetings.

I am an old vintage computer programmer with little modern skills, but although I can still recall opcode for the 6502, I am pretty much out of it when I go beyond basic BASH or batch file scripts.

So here is the 128 Bit Question:

From those that have actually had to deal with it, what is the least painful cross platoform coding environment? I see RealBasic (I don't know VB so I guess its gotta be somewhat similar), wxPython, wxGTK, and Java. Win32, Linux, and Apple compatibility would be the minimal. No hate towards BSD, but not a huge worry there. I would hope that what would translate to inclusion of Linux would also include BSD.
Any tips/advice/roadblocks? Remember I am a noob to the coding scene essentially, and am looking to getting a bunch of books (all hail amazon) and holing myself up until I can code (just beer breaks). I got a Mr. Java guy at work that used to do alot of hand assembly and loves C. But not having much skill there, I doubt a week is all I need but a few months (thats his words -- a week, ya right!). I am not in expectation of becoming the next Linux overnight, but I also would like to bald naturally (the kid is doing a great job of that for me).

And on a smaller note, I am interested in getting it open sourced as soon as my code isnt too unbearable to read. But for dealing with others, what tactics does one recommend? I see alot of people are migrating to svn for version control -- should I start with that? Any tips or advice on this would be spectacular. And before anyone needs to point it out -- I know IDE's and brands are like religion and polotics -- everyone has their special one. But thats the point -- I want to hear about yours. Preach on!