PDA

View Full Version : Simple Python Script Help Needed (Shutdown Comp.)

Eremis
January 24th, 2010, 11:19 PM
Hi everybody!

I am new to python, and I am trying to figure out how would I make a script that would shutdown my computer after X seconds...
For example when I am downloading something that takes about 2 hours, I could set the script to shutdown PC after 3 hours, and leave home...

So far this is what I have:

#!/usr/bin/python
import os
import time

time.sleep(3600) # after 1 hour shutdown computer
os.system("sudo shutdown now -h -k") # shutdown command

My problem is that ubuntu needs a password to do such tasks, so after 1 hour it will ask me for one (the point being I will not be home to type it...) If I leave out the "sudo" it just gives me an error saying that I dont have permission.. :confused:

Is there a way to become admin, then start the timer, then shut-down (with admin privileges...)? Or is there any other way to acomplish this?

Thanks for the help...

Senesence
January 24th, 2010, 11:52 PM
I think you need to run the python program with root privileges.

Can+~
January 25th, 2010, 01:17 AM
The shutdown command has a TIME parameter (http://www.dsl.org/cookbook/cookbook_41.html#SEC566), so you don't even need a script, check the manpages.

NAME
shutdown - bring the system down

SYNOPSIS
shutdown [OPTION]... TIME [MESSAGE]

And I think you can run as root indefenitely (aside from su) doing sudo -s command. Although, I'm not sure about this.

jpkotta
January 25th, 2010, 05:17 AM
If you use KDM, you don't need root privileges.

kdmctl shutdown halt trynow
You can use KDM without using KDE.

Edit: It appears that the GDM equivalent is gdm-signal, in the powermanagement-interface package. I have not tested it.

wmcbrine
January 25th, 2010, 09:02 AM
Yes, that "now" in the shutdown command actually means something -- just change it to the time you want.