PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No wireless on new install

DJohansson
January 24th, 2010, 09:14 PM
Hello,
I am completely new to ubuntu, and I am having some installation problems. The systems seems to be running fine, but my wireless network is not working. The laptop have installed this on is a Lenovo 300 N100.

I have found some instructions online for how to get his to work, but none seems to work. Most of the commands are just giving errors - I guess they were for older versions. I just installed the latest 9.10.

When I run sudo iwconfig I get this response, which is supposed to be mean that the system at least knows I have a wireless network card?

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=0 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

Some instructions said I needed to install something called ndiswrapper. The system gave me a command to use for this, but that one didn't work, which seemed very odd... I think I got it installed now though, and when I type in ndiswrapper -l I get the following

ndiswrapper -l

WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/ndiswrapper, it will be ignored in a future release.

bcmwl5 : driver installed

device (14E4:4311) present (alternate driver: ssb)

Doesn't that mean that I have the driver installed? Still, nothing seems to be working. This page https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Driver/Ndiswrapper is telling me to open the network admin tool (system > administration > networking) but I don't even have that alternative in the menu.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

darkod
January 24th, 2010, 09:34 PM