PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] IPv6 security risk and backdoor

cilbuper
January 23rd, 2010, 11:45 AM
I forget what I was reading or what I was listening to, it may have been Hakin9 magazine or some security podcast. I am not a security expert so bare with me as I will try to explain what I heard.

The jist of the report was that many people have missed a large security issue which is related to the IPv6 protcol. Since most people are not using IPv6 yet, many people forget to secure it.

I think this is especially an issue for anyone with a server that is connected to the internet.

I don't remember much more than this, but I do remeber that the expert said that it is a high security risk and it needed to be addressed.

I was wondering if there are steps that should be gone through to secure this protocol?

Lars Noodén
January 23rd, 2010, 02:40 PM
Is it delayed memory recall of the March / April 2007 discussions of IPv6 type 0 route headers which, before that was fixed, could be used to mount a DoS attack against hosts and networks?

Post back if you can find a link to whatever it was that you are trying to describe. Otherwise...

rookcifer
January 23rd, 2010, 03:04 PM
I think you're probably talking about this. (http://www.networkworld.com/news/2009/071309-rogue-ipv6.html?page=1) But this is not really a flaw in the protocol itself, but a result of many people not realizing that IPv6 is operating on their machine.

movieman
January 26th, 2010, 04:05 PM
I believe the Ubuntu firewalls (at least firestarter and I think ufw) block IPV6 by default, because I remember having to hack some configuration files to get it to work.

bodhi.zazen
January 26th, 2010, 08:52 PM
I believe the Ubuntu firewalls (at least firestarter and I think ufw) block IPV6 by default, because I remember having to hack some configuration files to get it to work.

No, they do not.

I can not imagine firestarte does this, firestarter is very old and has not been maintained since 2005.