PDA

View Full Version : Petition to Wine Dev Team

alexandrius
January 22nd, 2010, 10:39 PM
Hi, i want to ask WineHQ dev team to add function to Wine for installing patches, also create something like software center but for hacks and patches or just include all the patches and hacks into a wine build

stinger30au
January 22nd, 2010, 10:41 PM
then u need to be at the winehq web site where all the rest of the wine stuff is

http://www.winehq.org/:D

alex.rayu
January 22nd, 2010, 10:50 PM
I voted against. They can't make photoshop work well - they will be busy doing a software center.

alexandrius
January 22nd, 2010, 11:03 PM
Although i'm very new to Linux, i'm already thinking about going back
I can't find anything better in Linux, except Compiz and security

alex.rayu
The patches are fixing the problems!

AllRadioisDead
January 22nd, 2010, 11:15 PM

alex.rayu
Then go back. I'm not being mean, but you should use whatever OS works best for you. An OS is an OS, some people act like Linux is the holy grail, it's not.
Edit:
Ontopic, I think it would be a cool idea. However, I don't think it's something the wine team needs to waste resources on.

Psumi
January 22nd, 2010, 11:49 PM
Some programs also require other programs to run (IE: MSXML) which can only be installed by winedoors or winetricks. A GUI should be in wine that can easily install these rather than just to list them as installed. (Yes, I know PlayOnLinux can install some of these, but I'd rather have it integrated.)

Techsnap
January 23rd, 2010, 12:21 AM
Let them work on the core functionality of WINE before dealing with addons.

alexandrius
January 23rd, 2010, 08:20 AM
Techsnap
So you are the one from wine dev team. I think my idea is very usefull for wine and it's the first thing you must do with wine

If you do not do so, just release wine with patched source

oedipuss
January 23rd, 2010, 02:57 PM
For these patches not to be included by default, it must mean they cause some sort of longterm problem.