PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] permissions issue

indorian
January 22nd, 2010, 07:48 PM
I'm fairly new to Linux. I've played around with it before (pretty much every distro) out of curiousity but my command of it is rather limited. That said, I have so far enjoyed my experience with Ubuntu with a few exceptions. The most notable right now is the issue I seem to be having installing the gtk/aurora theme on 9.10 Karmic. I've run the apt-get, and extracted, and compiled, and now that I'm at the finish line with the make/make install commands, I'm stopped in the process by a permissions issue which appending the sudo command doesn't seem to change.

Now run make.
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/corey/gtk2-engines-aurora-1.5.1'
make[1]: Nothing to be done for `install-exec-am'.
test -z "/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/engines" || /bin/mkdir -p "/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/engines"
/bin/bash ./libtool --mode=install /usr/bin/install -c 'libaurora.la' '/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/engines/libaurora.la'
/usr/bin/install -c .libs/libaurora.so /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/engines/libaurora.so
/usr/bin/install: cannot create regular file `/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/engines/libaurora.so': Permission denied
make[1]: *** [install-engineLTLIBRARIES] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/corey/gtk2-engines-aurora-1.5.1'
make: *** [install-am] Error 2

the above is where it seems to hang, and I'm hoping that theres simply a command I'm not aware of to get past it. As I said sudo doesn't seem to make a difference.

sisco311
January 22nd, 2010, 07:52 PM
Hi and welcome to the forums!

Why don't you install it from the ppa repository?
https://launchpad.net/~merlwiz79/+archive/aurora

warfacegod
January 22nd, 2010, 07:54 PM
Do you have the gtk2-engine installed? If aurora is a theme archive, the easiest way to install would be to go to: System> Preferences> Appearance> Themes tab and drag and drop the package into the window.

indorian
January 22nd, 2010, 08:11 PM