PDA

View Full Version : iTablet running Ubuntu???

Sheetrokker
January 22nd, 2010, 03:58 AM
I found an article that claims it's possible, but I'm new to Ubuntu (and linux) so I have no idea if this is just speculation or not:

http://www.limux.biz/article.pl?title=apple_tablet_ubuntu_mod

However I am in the market for a travel computer, and if this is true I may be willing to wait on my netbook purchase...

pwnst*r
January 22nd, 2010, 04:03 AM
spam

AllRadioisDead
January 22nd, 2010, 04:04 AM
Why would you ever want to? Gnome has no tablet support.

Ric_NYC
January 22nd, 2010, 05:07 AM
Buy a tablet and get a free bottle of Windex...

:)

Islington
January 22nd, 2010, 05:33 AM
Why would you ever want to? Gnome has no tablet support.

things like moblin do.

AllRadioisDead
January 22nd, 2010, 05:34 AM
things like moblin do.
Moblin != Ubuntu

Docaltmed
January 22nd, 2010, 05:39 AM
I've been running Ubuntu on an HP tablet for a year now. Handwriting recognition is better than what I had on Vista. Screen rotation, the whole nine yards. Wouldn't trade it for an iTablet if you paid me.

schauerlich
January 22nd, 2010, 05:40 AM
...They're basing this on someone's mockup of a tablet? They do know Apple hasn't confirmed the tablet's existence yet, much less released photos, right?

Skripka
January 22nd, 2010, 05:41 AM
...They're basing this on someone's mockup of a tablet? They do know Apple hasn't confirmed the tablet's existence yet, much less released photos, right?

You and your pathetic little facts don't stop people from writing about how ChromeOS is better than linux due to KDE/Gnome infighting. :D

AllRadioisDead
January 22nd, 2010, 05:50 AM
I've been running Ubuntu on an HP tablet for a year now. Handwriting recognition is better than what I had on Vista. Screen rotation, the whole nine yards. Wouldn't trade it for an iTablet if you paid me.
What do you use, cellwriter?

3rdalbum
January 22nd, 2010, 05:56 AM