PDA

View Full Version : Do you work with emacs ?

frenchn00b
January 21st, 2010, 03:31 AM
Emacs for X or Emacs for console (no X) is a very developed and advanced application for coding, txt, ... and many more.

It is quite difficult to learn it.

Some of you are using it?

You like emacs?

chris200x9
January 21st, 2010, 03:33 AM
I use it in console, but I do not use advanced features mainly type

Icehuck
January 21st, 2010, 03:37 AM
MicroEMACS is rather nice, not that GNU crud.

I have a feeling a war will start here.

JDShu
January 21st, 2010, 03:50 AM
My school made me learn it, so I use it out of habit.

RiceMonster
January 21st, 2010, 04:08 AM
I tried to learn it once. I was using the X version, and I noticed you could play tetris, so I thought "screw this, I`m playing tetris".

unknownPoster
January 21st, 2010, 04:08 AM
I use it to experiment with Lisp and SLIME.

matthew.ball
January 21st, 2010, 04:17 AM
I think emacs is awesome!

Though, I'm still fairly new to using emacs (I have been using emacs -nox for a good 6-8 months now). I'm learning new things every day with emacs. It's the best!

juancarlospaco
January 21st, 2010, 04:30 AM
I use my own text editor (http://www.tecnicoslinux.com.ar/livecd/edipy_1_all.deb).

Frak
January 21st, 2010, 04:37 AM
I tried to learn it once. I was using the X version, and I noticed you could play tetris, so I thought "screw this, I`m playing tetris".
Hahaha

I use MicroEmacs, because, and I'm sorry to all those who worked on it, GNUEmacs is a pile of crap.

Daisuke_Aramaki
January 21st, 2010, 04:39 AM
Agree with icehuck. Microemacs is great, and its my editor of choice on windows.

i predominantly use vim for most text editing work, but i am more comfortable using emacs for latex, with auctex.

Cuddles McKitten
January 21st, 2010, 04:45 AM
Why would I use emacs when I have the overwhelmingly superior vim installed?

k64
January 21st, 2010, 04:48 AM
Emacs is showing its age. Me? I prefer GEdit and Kate.

Frak