PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cinelerra Audio Issues - Intrepid

uncle*wally
January 21st, 2010, 02:19 AM
Cinerella experts -

I am relatively new to Linux and Ubuntu and am trying to get cinelerra working. The install went without issue using the Synaptic Package Manager. I can load an MP4 file and the video channel is perfect frame for frame. Nothing shows up in the audio channel and when I play the video in the viewer I get this message repeated continuously in its own window:

virtual int FileMOV:: read_samples(double*, int64_t):quick_time_decode_audio failed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

This file plays perfectly in Totem-movie player VLC and all my other video players.

wildhostile
January 21st, 2010, 03:58 AM

Hi uncle wally,

Seems that Cinelerra can't recognize the audio part of your video.
what are the format(videocodec,audiocodec) and the resolution of your media? (midentify yourfile in a terminal)
Cinelerra can't read all format/codecs. You will have to make tests to find your perfect workflow.
You can convert your video in a format readable by Cinelerra. I know avi(mjpeg,pcm) works fine.
If you don't want to convert, another solution could be to export the audio part (with a converter in .wav format for example) and load it separately into Cinelerra. Got it?

uncle*wally
January 21st, 2010, 04:09 AM
midentify did not work in my terminal - command not found.
I tried identify and got-- no decode delegate for this image format my_file.mp4

Reformatting and exporting in Kino- to video-Generic mpeg2 and audio- wave internal helped a lot.

I now have all the video and the audio channels.

When I play in viewer the audio plays but the video does not change but catches up to the audio when I pause the replay.

Is this what I should be seeing??

wildhostile
January 21st, 2010, 05:44 AM

I think midentify is in mplayer package. I guess you don't have mplayer installed on your system.