PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Very New to Ubuntu-"Cube Effect" Question

Twizzler999
January 20th, 2010, 09:30 PM
Hello Everyone- I am very new to both this forum and Ubuntu. I am trying to enable the "Cube Effect" on my desktop. I have read the FAQ about enabaling the cube effect in the Desktop Enviorment Forum. It says "How can I get the "cube" effect? - overdrank (Image) First, install compizconfig-settings-manager. Then, in System > Preferences > Advanced Desktop Effects Settings, go to General Options, Desktop Size tab, and make sure Horizontal Virtual Size is set to 4. Go back to the main window, and enable the Desktop Cube and Rotate Cube plugins. You can "spin" the cube by pressing Ctrl+Alt+Left and Ctrl+Alt+Right, or hold Ctrl+Alt and click and drag." I have installed compizconfig and went to System>Preferences> But I have no "Advanced desktop Effects Settings" heading under System>Preferences. I made sure compizconfig was enabled by going to System>Preferences>Appearance>Visual Effects and made sure "Extra" was checked. Any help you can provide with getting the cube effect working would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance for your time and help.

howefield
January 20th, 2010, 11:03 PM
...But I have no Advanced Desktop Effects Settings heading under System > Preferences.

Look for System > Preferences > CompizConfig Settings Manager.

Do you have that option, if so then follow the rest of the tutorial.

JiuJitsu500
January 20th, 2010, 11:14 PM
edit....

just fully read the post.... do what the guy above me said.... compizconfig settings :) then its easy if u have that :)
most of the time anyway...

Twizzler999
January 21st, 2010, 01:28 AM