PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Which distro and version for older computer

TheBig3
January 20th, 2010, 10:11 AM
Hello, this is my first time actually asking for help here, so forgive me if I make any mistakes.

The other day I was trying to install Ubuntu 9.10 on my mom's old system (not too old, has vista on it) and even from the live cd it wouldn't boot. Then I tried 8.04 because I know that works on my XP system. However it would freeze during boot but at least showed that it was booting (the bar was starting to fill).

The system is an eMachine T5226:
CPU : Intel® Pentium® D Processor 925 (Dual-Core)
64-bit processor with Intel® EM64T Technology
(Each core operates at 3.0GHz | 2 x 2MB L2 Cache | 800MHz FSB)
Operating System : Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium
Chipset : Intel® 945G
Memory : 1024MB DDR2 Memory, Dual-Channel Capable
(2 × 512MB), 533MHz (PC4200)Expandable to 2GB
2 DDR2 Slots (Total), 0 DDR2 Slot (Available)
Hard Drive : 250GB SATA II (7200rpm, 8MB Cache)
Optical Drives : DVD±RW 16x Multiformat Dual-Layer Optical Drive
Up to 8.5GB with Dual-Layer Media
Video : Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 950
Up to 224MB Shared Video Memory
PCI-Express® (PCI-E x16) slot available for upgrade
Sound : 6-Channel (5.1) High-Definition Audio
Communications : 56K ITU v.92-ready Fax/Modem (RJ-11 port)
Intel® 10/100Mbps Ethernet LAN (RJ-45 port)

Since we bought it it's been upgraded to 2 GB of ram and has a nVidia 8400gs video card and a belkin wireless adapter now. I can't understand why the live cds won't fully boot since my single core 2.2Ghz boots just fine with 8.04.

I was thinking of trying 6.06 to see of that might work. However I was unsure if the system is capable of running Ubuntu and might need Kubuntu or another distro.

Any advice and help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanyou in advance.

nothingspecial
January 20th, 2010, 10:24 AM
An older version will not run any faster.

In fact Ubuntu tries to make itself run faster with each release.