PDA

View Full Version : Device.map is missing two HDDs causing GRUB errors

pierrem-m
January 19th, 2010, 02:35 PM
I'm running 9.10 (upgraded from 9.04 so I'm running GRUB not GRUB2 as I understand it) and I have a degree of flakiness in my PC that's beginning to worry me.

Twice now I've rebooted as requested after an update and have got a GRUB error.

Via booting the 9.10 live CD I've managed to fix this on each occasion but it has been far more by good luck than good judgement. Each time I tried some things on various forums on various sites and somehow got 9.10 to boot.

If my understanding is correct my problems are caused by GRUB not being able to locate the Linux partition.

I've done a bit of delving and found my device.map is as follows -

(hd0) /dev/sda
(hd1) /dev/sdb
(hd2) /dev/sdc
(hd3) /dev/sdd
(hd4) /dev/sde
(hd5) /dev/sdf
(hd6) /dev/sdg

all of which are internal SATA HDDs

Unfortunately my PC also has /dev/sdh (internal SATA), the DVD Burner and, most importantly, /dev/sdi which is an internal IDE HDD and is the HDD the Linux partition is located on.

I've hunted around a number of sites and the most I seem to be able to find is that I should add the two missing HDDs to device.map but nowhere have I found how to do this nor how to find out whether /dev/sdh is (hd7) and /dev/sdi is (hd8) or the other way around.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated and if any further information is needed just tell me what it is and how to get it and I'll happliy oblige.

I'd really like to fix this problem as I'm extremely concerned that I might lose my main HDD and not be able to get it back.

Regards and thanks in anticipation

Pierre

oldfred
January 19th, 2010, 04:34 PM
I have not seen anyone with this many drives, I have 3. I find the order in my system is the hardware order plugged into the SATA ports.
Ubuntu will show you its listing with:
sudo fdisk -l (el not 1 or I)