PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] [C++] interpret 1D array as 2D array.

BramWillemsen
January 19th, 2010, 01:16 AM
Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to programming in C++. For an assignment i programmed a general purpose (square matrix of arbitrary size) math library that could for instance calculate the inverse of a 2D array. The heap allocated 2D array was passed to the function as a **array.

The problem now is that i want to load the array in openGL (glLoadMatrix). This function accepts a one dimensional array. because the 2D array is allocated on the heap, the different rows have different memory locations so a pointer to the 2D array wont do.

main question
My teacher suggested me to use stack allocated 1D arrays in the function declarations instead of heap allocated 2D arrays. He said i could overload the [] operator in order to work with the 1D array like it was a 2D (being able to use [i][j] element addressing). That way it would be much easier to write code for matrix calculations. I googled around for how to do this but i can't find the right information. Could anyone give me a tip ? I know there are other ways to tackle the problem i stated but i'm really curious about how to overload the [] operator in the specified way.

with kind regards,

Bram

MadCow108
January 19th, 2010, 01:49 AM
its generally better to overload the () operator instead of the [] operator for this kind of stuff
http://burks.bton.ac.uk/burks/language/cpp/cppfaq/operator.htm#[13.9]

linearizing the memory is trivial, just encapsulate this:
ar[nrows*ncols];
ar[row*ncols + col]

if you use stack or heap depends on the size of the matrix
in general use the heap as matrices tend to get quite large and the stack size is very limited

BramWillemsen
January 19th, 2010, 05:04 PM
Thanks a lot ! Using () would maybe be better indeed, but i felt like the [] are more intuitive when working with array like behaviour. I will post the way i did it so other people may benefit from it.