PDA

View Full Version : Questions about programming

Frogging101
January 18th, 2010, 09:50 PM
I am just beginning to understand programming, and I have some questions:

1. In the C programming language, how are things like 'printf', or 'scanf' made? How do those functions 'know' what to do? Who programmed those?

2. How are programs optimized for things like GPGPU, and how do things like raytracing in Blender happen? How are those things programmed?

I didn't ask many questions because I know when people reply, it will start a discussion, and I will have more questions.

Can+~
January 19th, 2010, 03:01 AM
Surprised that nobody has replied so far.

1. In the C programming language, how are things like 'printf', or 'scanf' made? How do those functions 'know' what to do? Who programmed those?

There are many levels involved. The thing is that each OS implements it's own way, and then is wrapped around with the standard C. So the reason why this things are portable, is basically because the same function definitions are kept.

If you want to understand even deeper, the OS is in charge of many things, including which processes enter de CPU (Scheduling), how to manage memory pages (Pagers and Swappers). The OS also has it's own set of libraries which are usually called an API, in this case, in the case of *nix, the OS API is POSIX. Then printf() and whatever function is declared as a function that calls the POSIX functions.

And if you still want to go even further (Assembly). You'll realize that I/O is issued at the processor level as interruptions, which causes the kernel to execute a certain piece of code belonging to the kernel space that does whatever action was requested depending on a registry argument (print to a terminal, read a file...)

So to answer your question, the Kernel programmers wrote the lowest-level things, the GCC guys built the libraries to wrap them, and you link to them.