PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrading without the loss of softwares

AmirM
January 18th, 2010, 05:17 PM
Hi,
I'm new to Ubuntu(about 6 months)and I'm using Ubuntu 9.04 jaunty.
I want to install Ubuntu 9.10 from the cd but I dont want softwares that I installed to be lost.what should I do?
(It's the matter of time,internet speed and internet traffic limits)

phillw
January 18th, 2010, 06:06 PM
Hi and welcome to the forums.

Whilst we normally say to do a clean install, if you're stuck for either speed or data allowance, you may be better doing an upgrade to 9.10.

I did this method and it worked okay for me. As with any installation - do take a backup of anything important.

To upgrade from Ubuntu 9.04 on a desktop system, press Alt+F2 and type in "update-manager -d" (without the quotes) into the command box. Update Manager should open up and tell you: New distribution release '9.10' is available. Click Upgrade and follow the on-screen instructions.
Once that is running happily, I recommend upgrading to Grub2, that can be done here --> https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2#Upgrading%20to%20GRUB%202

My how to on upgrading from ext3 --> ext4 has gone walk about, It's not a critical upgrade - If you keep an eye on my signature, it should be coming back soon.

/edit - I put it back on manually --> http://www.vpolink.com/threads/573-Upgrade-ext3-ext4?p=684

Regards,

Phill.

AmirM
January 19th, 2010, 08:34 AM
Thanks phillw,but due to my internet data allowance and speed it takes about 6 hours and costs me about 700MBs to download that...
Any ideas?

====
Is there any "thanks" button or something here?

yogesh.girikumar
January 19th, 2010, 11:55 AM
Hi,