PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lpcre

UltimusRex
January 17th, 2010, 07:08 PM
Hello. I am quite new to Linux and Ubuntu, so I apologize if my lack of knowledge/understanding on the subject frustrates anyone. I'm running Ubuntu 9.10.

Here is the last bit copied from the terminal when trying to install prce-8.00, including the error it returns.

libtool: relink: g++ -shared -nostdlib /usr/lib/gcc/i486-linux-gnu/4.4.1/../../../../lib/crti.o /usr/lib/gcc/i486-linux-gnu/4.4.1/crtbeginS.o .libs/pcrecpp.o .libs/pcre_scanner.o .libs/pcre_stringpiece.o -L/usr/local/lib -lpcre -L/usr/lib/gcc/i486-linux-gnu/4.4.1 -L/usr/lib/gcc/i486-linux-gnu/4.4.1/../../../../lib -L/lib/../lib -L/usr/lib/../lib -L/usr/lib/gcc/i486-linux-gnu/4.4.1/../../.. -L/usr/lib/i486-linux-gnu -lstdc++ -lm -lc -lgcc_s /usr/lib/gcc/i486-linux-gnu/4.4.1/crtendS.o /usr/lib/gcc/i486-linux-gnu/4.4.1/../../../../lib/crtn.o -Wl,-soname -Wl,libpcrecpp.so.0 -o .libs/libpcrecpp.so.0.0.0
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lpcre
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
libtool: install: error: relink `libpcrecpp.la' with the above command before installing it
make[1]: *** Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/ultimusrex/Downloads/pcre-8.00'