PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wireless Router Installation

Talynz
January 17th, 2010, 04:15 AM
Ok so i'm getting a wireless router (probably a linksys or belkin) for a wifi spot for a iPod Touch and a ps3...I have one simple question. Will the installation disc that comes with the router work with Ubuntu? Or what will I have to do? I'm relatively new to ubuntu, but not really a complete noob so will you please explain if I have to use terminal or anything like that. Thank you guys and gals!!

pirateghost
January 17th, 2010, 04:17 AM
Ok so i'm getting a wireless router (probably a linksys or belkin) for a wifi spot for a iPod Touch and a ps3...I have one simple question. Will the installation disc that comes with the router work with Ubuntu? Or what will I have to do? I'm relatively new to ubuntu, but not really a complete noob so will you please explain if I have to use terminal or anything like that. Thank you guys and gals!!

you dont NEED an installation disc. it does nothing that you cant do yourself. its simply an idiot's way of interfacing with the router, you can get way more functionality out of going to the routers configuration webpage (usually http://192.168.1.1 or similar)

TBABill
January 17th, 2010, 04:22 AM
Agreed with the above. If you're not familiar with the router, follow the advice above. If prompted for a password, most default to 'admin' for login and 'admin' for password, or 'admin' for login and 'password' for password.

Write down that URL also. You will most certainly need it at a later time if you ever need to access the router to make changes or restore settings....192.168.1.1 from any browser.

No CD required for a router normally.

sgosnell
January 17th, 2010, 05:57 AM